Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Norman Selway
1 2 3 4 5
UI?
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing with Richard Sampson in the Spring 4's many moons ago, against Robson and Liggins, the tall one opened a five card spade and Richard overcalled 1NT, I had an eight count with QXXXX of spades. I transfered into spades and he bid 3 Diamonds - very suspicious, but as it was a super accept I bid four spades. Lay down. Andy had, “put one out”. Does this not happen anymore?
May 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
well Frances, I hear what you say and you obviously know the rules better than me(not a vast achievement!)but I do not agree with you. To me it is an anathema for a player to not bid Spades on this hand. it is obvious that this sequence has come up and been forgotten before, hence the, “safety play”. You, the rules, the directors or the whole world can say that this is an OK type of thing to do but it is definitely not for me. The kindest way to describe it is sharp practice, if that offends, tough but if one wants to play the game this way, then the cap most certainly fits.
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Ed, you are of course right but in my defence we had 50 mins for food before starting the next match so I should have appealed but I was hungry!
May 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Frances, I did not appeal the ruling on hand 1 because the match was not close, I would have done so otherwise because the man had a 4S bid which is what you or I would have bid and it would have led to a large penalty, all else is nonsense. On the second hand, the player at the table may or may not have known what he was doing but when his partner gives an explanation he is now in receipt of UI. Ok he can claim a psyche but it was not revealed at the table but was an hour later for what it is worth. We did not appeal this either.
May 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I could name the player, I could give his comments, but as he is not here to defend himself, I will not. I am not sure that EVERYONE on Bridgewinners disagrees with me but as you have obviously conducted an extensive survey of members I bow to your point of view.
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you knew that 3D was a splinter all along and you were trying to get in the way. Seems odd at adverse vulnerability and 4H instead would have used up more room and helped partner more and removed any later problem that you might encounter. If you did however not know that it was a splinter and found out with the alert then it has added to your sum of knowledge so yah, boo, sucks to you!
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wouldn't it be fun if they if they did? I did not say that they did and unsurprisingly they didn't! But, they did show a heart raise and then accepted their partner's decision at the five level. it is true that they had shown a pre emptive raise but what's an extra heart between friends?
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the first hand the advancer merely forgot the system - looks from the auction that it has happened before. In the second case, the player said nothing at the table but when asked an hour later said that he was muddying the waters. He may be right, he may have forgotten, he may have been on something artificial but did he gain information from his partner's alert? Did he use it? Did his partner tell him twice not to bid? Did he think that he could make what he bid? How can anyone know? But he had UI in my humble and made a bid for which there is an extremely logical alternative - the pass found at the other table by an international class player.
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
System says that it is a splinter but surely the explanation gives the possibility of UI
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Apologies, I am not an adept although it seems easy enough to follow to me, but then I did write it so I suppose it would.
May 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks Peter.
May 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Very interesting stuff and reminds me that 40 years ago I was given a box of CBJs, I think including this one and perhaps the first few. I am now going to scour my attic!
April 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you saying that psyching is callous and unfair?
April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sneaking the psyche back into the game? A little pompous to say the least, if only because it is a recognised and legal part of the game. Psychic bidding can be a thing of beauty in an unsuspecting world. Over here great players of the past such as “Plum” Meredith (who called a spade or anything else a spade), Joe Amesbury or John Collings amongst many others psyched frequently but not all the time. They had their successes and disasters but it did not seem to upset the rank and file for at least two reasons. 1) You can convince an expert that his Aces and Kings are not full value, less experienced players will not be persuaded - they react to what they see in their hand. 2) No top player that I know would psyche against a very inexperienced player anyway. It would be demeaning and probably unnecessary, more experienced players should be able to look after themselves or learn how to.


I seem to remember that some wonderful American players of the past were more than prone to a little, “Trick Cycling” and to my knowledge it has never been prohibited. Obviously if you do it all the time it stops being a surprise and makes life impossible for partner and random repeated psyching can spoil an event. But, if you want to remove it all together you are voting to remove a subtle and intelligent part of the game because you do not understand it or have no wish to.
April 27
Norman Selway edited this comment April 27
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is interesting that West passed 3C but went to game over 3S. I assume that this means that he does not think that his high card strength has improved, so he can only have a very long but not wonderful suit (K10XXXXX, AJXXXXX) and something like 6 (7) - 4 distribution (not 6-5 as he could have bid 3D over 3C). He heard the bidding and will realise that 3S has to contain a club fit so will be unworried about club wastage. This rates to make so in all scenarios I bid 5C (could partner not have HX in Spades)and I think that they may have a tough time doubling this whereas 4SX - 5CX would be a reflex.
April 26
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many thanks
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As a matter of interest, what happens if the partner of the 1NT opener states that, “Could contain a singleton”. Do they get accused of cheating? Over here, we say what 1NT might be, it has an adverse effect on no one and we get on with it. I have not played in your fine country before but beloved and I are coming out for Orlando. Is there anything else we need to know?
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over here, we had the usual outrage when the Multi first appeared on the scene. Letters to the bridge magazines accusing the perpetrators of cheating and all that. The sage, David burn announced that it was every tournament players right to obtain a top against two little old ladies by use of the multi! Now, I play club duplicates at several small clubs and even the most ancient of my opposition open the multi and understand its continuations. They probably had fits about Stayman and Transfers when they came out, more fool them!
April 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I used to play the odd tournament with him which involved playing on the Sabbath. I was instructed to stand at the end of his street when I came to meet him and it was always slightly surreal to see him approach, crouching behind any cars or bushes that might give him cover, so that his neighbours would not see him out on the holy day.
April 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can't leave out,“Joker” Jack Newman who was one of the few players we allowed to join the all night game at the Acol on his way to work in the morning.. We might even have been responsible for his losing his job as he often stayed all day and missed work completely! Who remembers Viv? A reasonable Sri Lankan player. Gold plated no prize if you can spell his full name.
April 20
1 2 3 4 5
.

Bottom Home Top