Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Oleg Rubinchik
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Shan,
I did not check their convencional cards and was not at the table or on AC meeting. They asked my opinion before make decision to apeal and told me facts as I wrote them. They did not specify lead, Albert said he lead the suit and I asumed it was . I completely agree that if opponents play intermideate jump shift they must alert and explain. But they are not playing intermediatly, they play it as preemptive. At least it is what they claimed and what each of them playing with me as a partner. I guess it was some kind of miscommunication issue at your table that cause you to feel you were misinformed.
As for Bakshi it was not missinformation at all. Just good tricky bid that cause me misguess the Queen. I did not bother to check his convension card, just accepted he overplayed me and went to the next board.
March 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi Jonathan,
With all due respect I cannot disagree more about appeal case 7. By the way bulletins write up of this appeal it awful. My friends and regular teammates were E-W there, I heard that story from them and personally was shocked by director’s decision.
As far as I understand them issue was a very simple one. My friends play jump overcall as a preemptive bid. Not constructive, not intermediately – just preemptive. They have preemptive checked in both convention cards, they alerted and explained that bid as an preemptive. George (in bulletin they put players sits wrong) decided to pre-empt with his 12 points. A little heavy, I agree, but it was his decision. David Bakhshi did exactly the same against me (in different board). As far as I know, Albert led diamond, not spade as written in bulletin. My sympathy with declarer, he just got unlucky with unclimatically strong preemptive bid.
Director was called. She looked in George cards, and said because he had 12 points his bid should be explained as an intermediately, no preemptive. Attempt to explain that according their system bid is preemptive but on this particular board player decided to pre-empt with stronger than usual hand was not taken into account. She said they playing intermediate jump shifts, and should accordingly mark their convention cards and explain.
They appealed and explained that they explained exactly according their system agreements – jump overcall is preemptive: light non-vul and sound vul. I believe the majority of people playing it exactly the same way. I completely believe and even agree with South that explanation (and agreement) made West to be strong favourite to hold King of hearts, but there were no misinformation. I have no ideas why AC decided to look at declarer play at all.
March 28, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Majority of ACBL directors are the very nice and knowledgeable people.
Unfortunately, in tournaments like NABC very many directors and some of them less professional than others.
I have two stories about director calls during the St Louis NABC, one of them is funny, second not at all.
Funny one: In a side game, I am declaring 2 spades contract. In one moment I have to make a discard from the table. Dummy already dead and what card I discard have no difference at all. I shrug my shoulders and say “play heart”. My partner turns over the smallest heart. Now the fun began.
“Why did you play heart?” asked from my partner nice old women sitting on the left of me.
“Because I was asked to do so,” reply my partner.
“Director!”
Director came.
“Declarer said (she said some word that I have never heard) and dummy discard small cards.”
I was trying to explain. “Sorry, dummy discard small heart because I said “play heart”. I could not say what she said because I simply do not know that word and what it means.”
Director completely ignored me. He asked my LHO what card she wants to be played from the table and turn the card she said.
I did not make a noise about it; As I wrote earlier it was completely irrelevant that moment what card to discard from the table, but director making decision did not know about it. He clearly thought that his job is to satisfy nice old women, but not objectively enforce the bridge rules.
By the way, I am absolutely sure my LHO was not the person who tried to get something for nothing. I guess my strong accent and my body language make her to believe I said something different from what I actually said. Absolutely no problem with her, but some uneasy feeling toward the director who did not want listen the second side before making decision.
Serious one:
Vanderbilt round of 64. We are weak team playing against one of the tournament favourites. Second quarter. So far score is very close. My LHO open 1 diamond (precision), partner double and RHO bid 2h alerted and explained as weak hand, 5+h and 4+ spades. In a future bidding we had an accident and lost a lot of imps. During the next board I discover that LHO open 1 diamond with 1 point and RHO made a bid with completely different distribution. (2 spades, 4 hears 5 diamonds and 2 clubs.) I called director. Opponents claimed that they both psyched. Who am I to doubt their words?
“Is it permitted to psyche by artificial bids?” asked me.
“Sir, it is just bridge,” firmly said director and walked away.
Who am I to dispute?
But now looking at ACBL convention chart I see that:
DISALLOWED
2. Psyching of artificial opening bids and/or conventional responses
Should not director know it?
And worst of all I have a very strong suspicious what behaviour and decisions by director would be completely different if sides were changed.
Downfall of our team started right after this board and there was no reason to appeal director’s ruling after match is over.
March 27, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2 opening for me, especially in IMPs.
March 7, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does everybody Ok with 3NT bid?
March 6, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My 4 bid here is a reason why I will pass in situation like http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/bidding-problem-827/
Feb. 19, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Different answers for different partners :(
Feb. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I joined to the game in the middle of tournament as a partner of C player. I don’t need to try to win the event; I don’t think it is possible. I guess my goal should be to keep my partner happy for the rest of the evening.
What are my choices?
Double “do something smart, partner”. I would do it with my regular partner. But I am afraid my current C partner will get confused. Out of question.
3 hearts is a reasonable practical bid, but my partner could feel that I have no trust to him and planning to hog all the hands. He/she will not be happy if I will go down and there is no guaranty 3h is makeable.
3 clubs. Maybe this is a good contract, but I don’t really want to ask my flight C partner to declarer difficult contract and this one looks difficult.
I simply see no other choices except pass now and “Sorry I should bid more. How would you understand if I double, Partner?” after the board.
Feb. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would prefer 4NT instead of 5h.
Feb. 11, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Looks like 19 total tricks for me. If we have 5 clubs I expect them be down 3 in 4 spades.
Jan. 30, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is the system agreement about North 3rd hand openings? If 1st sit pass denied more than 7 points it does not have too much sense to keep the standard meanings for one level openings on the 3rd sit. Was it alerted?
Jan. 23, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And you will get director call about hesitation on your first bid…
Nov. 30, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
> Steps 1-3 of process 2 should be done before the hand begins
Did they get pre-alerted about this convention and had a chance to discuss their methods before the hand started?
Nov. 30, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you are playing against familiar methods you need:
1. Recall your agreements;
2. Evaluate your hand and make a decisions.

If you are playing against unfamiliar methods you need:
1. Understand opponents methods
2. Recall your agreements for similar situations;
3. Decide which one is the most probably apply here;
4. Think about “worst case scenario”
5. Evaluate your hand and make a decisions.

Which process required more time?
I don't think 10 second hesitation (according the opponents, less according the pair in question) could provide any UI in this case.
Nov. 30, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congrats!
Nov. 29, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Continue to “doors and windows” analogies.
Cell phone ban is like you took one particular window on the second floor of your house, closed it, locked it, put bars on it and security guard with dogs behind it … and left the front door unlocked, back door and couple of windows on the first floor wide open and unattended.
Nov. 29, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
deleted, wrong place
Nov. 29, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hi, Tom, thanks. I am glad you asked. Actually it was what I replied to my friend. Almost…:)
I personally would be more concerned not because of fear of being laughed, but because of fear to insult innocent player and loose friend but it is probably difference between somebody playing bridge for fun and enjoyment and professional player. I have no answer what is the correct way to behave. Personally I would never take a risk to show my suspicious to opponent unless I am very sure something dirty was going on. Meaning: I would never say anything in F2F game because I can’t check their archive and see the pattern. Other people would call director anytime if they don’t understand what was going on making playing on the same table with them disgusting. (Just to make sure. I am not talking now about my LHO. I do think he is a very good player and person and the only reason he called the director because he felt it is his duty to report any suspicious accidents. I don’t agree with him on there to make the line, but still like to think he is my friend. )
Nov. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you have an agreement what 4 spades bid show? (In my partnership it would deny Ace of spades and, I believe, 6h is the only possible bid).
Oct. 15, 2012
Oleg Rubinchik edited this comment Oct. 15, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top