Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Paul D East
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 39 40 41 42
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm surprised only 94% of Bridgewinners passed. I thought we might have 100%.
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Strictly a matter of agreement.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I believe this is true for the Open and Open+ Charts, but not the Basic and Basic + Charts.
Oct. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Same
Oct. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ditto
Oct. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes
Oct. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agreed. Absolutely 100% of blame to South.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ditto
Oct. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 natural, preemptive
Sept. 24
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
LAW 64 PROCEDURE AFTER ESTABLISHMENT OF A REVOKE

B. No Automatic Trick Adjustment

3. the revoke was made in failing to play a penalty card or any card belonging to dummy.
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The Laws stayed are not the current laws!

Sometimes Dummy puts down only 12 visible cards. One card might be stuck behind another, or a card may have fallen to the floor. It is also possible that Dummy does not properly display the cards, placing the eight of diamonds amongst the hearts, for instance. If for any of the above reasons or similar ones dummy fails to follow suit to a trick the director should not apply the Revoke Laws. The defenders, however, may well be due an adjustment.

From Duplicate Decisions:

“If one of dummy’s cards is obscured, as by being stuck behind another, and the discrepancy goes unnoticed for some time, and its absence is found to have damaged the defenders, an adjusted score (Law 12) may be in order for failing to display dummy properly (Law 41 D).

“When a player, usually the dummy, says, ‘Everyone is responsible for the dummy,’ he is quoting a 1948 Law. This has no basis in current law. The player who is the dummy is responsible for the proper display of his hand.

“A director should look at how the play of the hand went and be ready to protect the non-offending side, awarding an adjusted score if necessary. There is also no automatic penalty to the declaring side; a director should also consider how declarer may have played the hand differently had he been able to see all 13 cards. The goal is to restore equity. In gray areas of how the play MIGHT have gone the director should side with the non-offenders.”
Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Quite a while back I emailed a similar question to ACBL. Here is the response.

rom: Rulings <Rulings@acbl.org>;
Date: August 26, 2017 at 3:25:41 PM CDT
To: Paul East <pdeast@icloud.com>;
Subject: Re: Psyches


Hi Paul –


You are correct on all counts. Psychic bids are legal and may not be banned at club games (except for psychic conventional calls). The Club Director's Handbook states:


In regard to psychic bids, the Laws of Duplicate Bridge state specifically that psychic bids are legal (Law 40). At the same time, nothing in this law says that psychic bids may be used indiscriminately. Partner must be as unprepared as the opponents in terms of expecting the action.

Frequent psyching should be carefully looked at (even more than two psyches per session would be allowed if the bidder had good bridge reasoning for the psychic bids, but he would have to justify his bids as sound bridge rather than frivolous). Psyching against novices is not allowed. Any possibility that a psyche is being “fielded” or expected by partner should be investigated. If the partner of the psyche bidder makes any calls which suggest he expects a psyche to have occured, the bid now comes into the realm of partnership agreement and would therefore be illegal.


I'm not sure why the director at your club decided to ban psychic bidding. Usually someone has had a bad experience and complains. The best recourse for a director is education for players who have been hurt by a psychic bid. All players should be aware that psyches are part of the game and allowed.


Psychic bids should be reported to the Director – not for the purpose of the Director taking punitive action, but rather to ensure the pyches fall under the category of those that are allowed rather than those that are not.


Here is a link to ACBL's FAQ's page on psychic bidding which you might want to foward to your director: http://www.acbl.org/clubs_page/club-administration/club-directors/rulings-faq/psychic-bidding/


And also a link to the Club Director's handbook:

http://web2.acbl.org/documentlibrary/clubs/cdHandbook.pdf


I hope this was helpful.


Lynn Yokel

Tournament Director and Rulings Box Associate
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to change the system.
Sept. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I too would respond 2 with that.
Sept. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
New version of Bridge. Only declarer gets to see dummy.
Sept. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Don’t worry. You’re not the first by any means.
Sept. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don’t play Minorwood. Why not Kickback?
Sept. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why am I playing support doubles if a raise doesn’t promise four?
Sept. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don’t see it either.
Sept. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And sometimes one of them is playing “upside-down” and the other isn’t
Sept. 3
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 39 40 41 42
.

Bottom Home Top