Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Peg Kaplan
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 268 269 270 271
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed, Richard. Is partner supposed to bid again holding: A1098x, AKxx, x, KJx, if we are silent?
2 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my world, double is penalties; not a game try when I haven't been able to support either of partner's suits previously.

I hate bidding 3 with only 2 - but - no guarantees that partner has 5, IMHO - and my cards seem to be working SO well for pard! Of course this could work out poorly, but - just can't restrain myself!
4 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And your ask over 5 is … ;)
Oct. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, people can have different preferences and uses for bids. In my partnerships, we like to play that 4NT is PURE ace asking IF you are able to cue bid over the preempt below the level of game. (If not, then 4NT is keycard for partner's suit.)

If you're dealt: x, KQx, AKQJ10xxx, x and the auction begins: 1 - 3, you pretty much just want to know about sticks!
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, not anywhere as good a story as yours. But - many years ago, a local expert was on lead against 7NTX with a KQ and an ace.

Need I detail what happens to pigs on lead….?
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So Yu - how do you bid a hand that is at least 6-5 in the minors with GF or GF+ strength?

How do you show that hand?

And - if you are with the “I double” crowd - and partner passes …. don't you get a bit ill bringing home plus 200 on what might well be your game - or slam - hand?

How is partner to know that Jx or xxx in a minor makes slam pretty solid?
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jeff and Alan, not quite the same but your story reminded me of this one. I was kibitzing a world class player many moons ago at a regional, facing also a world class pair.

2 was opened, and it also went pass pass! Partner was day dreaming.

But - the opponents told Mr. Day Dreamer, “don't worry; you can take it back.”

One guess as to what the LAST possible plus was on this hand….. Yep. (But, of course he took it back!)
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yu, if you bid 3, partner bids 3NT and you return to hearts, then partner will know it wasn't trying to get to 3NT :)
Oct. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
OK; I'll bite. How on earth do you get a bottom for that?

He was in a minor XX'd making and everyone else played in a major XX making?!
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted for “takeout of hearts with extras” - but - shouldn't “ why is partner torturing me?” have been one of the selections?
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
x, x, AKQxxx, AKQ10x. I ain't making no takeout double with this hand!
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Everyone getting doubled and making? Or is NT cold, too?
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, my primary reason for preferring 4 is that LHO must judge what to do at the 4 level than at the one level. As you can see from the actual hand, most would go wrong over 3 (or 4). Give them the room to start over 1, they may well choose far better.
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Probably my worst fix ever was against an expert married couple at a regional. She opened 1 - he raised to 2 … and when she passed, he could not stop shrieking at her. (This was long before zero tolerance - and - clearly something happened when he thought they were playing inverted and she did not.)

28 HCP - and - no game anywhere. No matchpoints for us, either!
Oct. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Totally agree, Tom. A bit different in 1st or 2nd seat though. Then more of an argument for 1. Surely a closer call than in 3rd seat.
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since the advent of BBO, Barry (and for some other reasons, too) I don't play at club games much anymore. So, perhaps I'm not too “in tune” with what to do there.

That being said, I will never forget an incident at a club game many years ago. I and a regular partner were playing against a player considered among the experts in our area. Our auction went: P - P - P and I opened 2.

This player was outraged when my partner did not alert my bid - and - I had something like a 12 count with 6 spades. He insisted that they were entitled to an alert because I didn't have 6-10.

We tried to explain that with 6-9 hcp I likely would have passed - but - no success with that reasoning.
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well - I can't find it (a common problem I have). And, my experience is in today's age, playing this is a game try is much less common than simply making a bit tougher for the opponents to compete.

Not trying to be argumentative, but - at what point is one supposed to be playing what seems like “normal bridge” - and thus not alerting. And - when (and if) are we to alert an auction such as this become someone only playing a short while doesn't know that there are many other ways to make a game try?
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This was one long Thursday night, Buddy!
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So, Andrew has “let the cat out of the bag.” This hand is 4th hand, and the hand that I posted later (which Andrew has above) is the hand that opened 3 rather than 4. (I assume that Andrew meant “opens 4” rather than overcalls…

In any case, I was curious what others would do. I must admit, this seems like a major “jump ball” guess. I can imagine hands where we'd be cold for 7 of a minor - and - then there are hands like this one, where it turns out that it's actually the opponents' hand for game!

At first I was thinking 5 (I'm very unlucky ;) ) - but then revised to 3NT. Seemed to me my odds of being able to make game were greater there; either clubs OR diamonds could come in.

Partner did have Jxxx of diamonds and a doubleton club. But - here were the other hands:

West: Kx, xxx, 10xx, J107xx
North: J10xxx, Qx, Jxxx, 94
East: AQ9x, KJ1098xx, 98, none.

Down one earned us a few imps - and, I apologize for not inquiring as to how our teammates' auction went to achieve this result!
Oct. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are you sure this is alertable, Barry? If so, could you please cite where it is found in the laws?
Oct. 13
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 268 269 270 271
.

Bottom Home Top