Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Per-Ola Cullin
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Spot on. South has an absolute minimum - strength and distribution wise - as far as I understand the methods. Maybe, just maybe, he was worth a forcing pass due to his club shortage.
April 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You can have whatever opinion you like about north's auction (I would have bid the same, rates to be 500-800 against 1370-1390, or 300-500 against 600-620), but south's pass is simply out of this world. Even if they make 6red, how are they ever going to be able to bid it? And we basically know partner is gonna sacrifice with his void.
March 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The rule is a disgrace. That being said, opening the first hand 1NT gets 0 points in my book. And the second hand, what on earth is wrong with 1 - 1; 2? Last time I checked, it showed 5+ 11-(16).
Jan. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Impressive Nilsson!
Dec. 28, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Roland Voigt: I think, in the interest of the game, that it should be assumed that a pass on 5 is indeed the result of some mannerism by the 5-bidder. As Benoit points out though, the double might save the day.
Dec. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Come on! I find it offensive that you should have to pass 4 with this hand. Partner is showing a 5 sacfrifice, bidding 4 on the way. The real question is wether partner is allowed to pass 5. Without screens it's likely doubtful.
Dec. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Fredin found the same K pitch in the very same spot. Ekenberg proceeded to make it anyway, probably because it took too long to make the pitch.
Oct. 26, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are two answers to that question Michael. The truth and the one Hanan is gonna provide us in a couple of hours.
July 17, 2016
Per-Ola Cullin edited this comment July 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The famous “I'm just asking the question”-argument. Questions often carry insinuations. There's a brilliant South Park-episode where Cartman is “just asking questions”. You should watch it.
July 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hanan, if you are not able to understand that the point of this video is not that Boye is cheating, you have a serious problem with contextual interpretation.
July 14, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I had to choose between killing myself and bidding 2, it would be a close call.
July 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, I'd rather not :-)
July 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I want to focus more on partner's signals. The first low , to me, denied a honor. When partner then discards a , it should be count. The 5 is only consistent with T85 or T542. If he plays the 2, I can safely play the J first to have him dislodge his highest remaining save the T. I then have to guess unless he follows with the 4.
July 11, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom, I think you (and many others) are totally off evaluating this case. I make this statement: Even if there were no theory at all as to what information the board position conveys, the positioning by itself is clear and convincing evidence of cheating.
June 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you for your kind remarks Amir.

I agree with almost everything you just said, and it is true that the heart placement is truly indicative in favor of your “absolute-thesis”. Just one last comment on the KQxx, xx, xxx, KJxx-hand. When RHO bids 5, he needs to have 4+, as he might be facing only 4 in openers hand. If you agree this is true, then opener cannot have six.

Best regards
Per-Ola
June 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I´m not gonna argue on which thesis is correct, the Israelis may well have it right.

I do want to say something about the boards mentioned by Mr Hammond though.

On the board where you hold KQxx, xx, xxx, KJxx, remember declarer has shown 5+ 4*. I would never ask for a into declarers longer side suit. Please lead a trump partner, is the message I would send.

On the hand where you hold QJTxxx, KQxx, Jxx, - , of course you wouldnt ask for a , but to me, a signal would be almost as weird. You have opened 3 on a 6*suit headed by QJT and have no quick entries. You hold KQxx of . Any signal but a i simply out. From the photage it´s clear, to me at least, that RS has a brain fart and tries to correct himself, but too late. But I do agree that a brain fart leading to an original spade signal is more likely than one leading to an original club signal.

To sum it up, I think these two boards are a tie.

And, as stated by many already, it´s really just details at this point. I think James Vogl summed up the strength of the evidence best in another thread recently “the most blatant evidence imaginable”.

Best regards
Per-Ola
June 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
39 is my bid

North QJT987 QJ KQJT9 -
South AK AK A AKQT8765
West xxx xxxx x J9432
June 3, 2016
4NT
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A serious raise to 5 .
May 31, 2016
ATB
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The problem is that in this sequence 3 does not promise extras, whereas had East bid 2 (promising support) instead of 2NT, 3 would show extras and East would have had an easy 3NT. As it were, 3 was timid but not outrageous.
March 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are missing my point.
Could a native English speaker please clarify wether “disapprove” carries a different meaning than “being dissatisfied” in the sense that disapproval carries an opinion as to wether opponent/partner was right to play the card he did.
Nov. 30, 2015
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top