Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Peter Hasperhoven
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Not high level, but I started playing Precision with one partner about two years ago. Started out as simple as possible and keep adding stuff as we go along. Been using Berkowitz/Manley mostly. Great source. That said:

1. We switched to 10-12 NT throughout. It's great fun. Yes, you'll go for a number now and then, but overall it scores positive (I'm keeping track). Put effort in your runout system though. You'll get plenty of opportunity to practice:-). Oh, and play two-way Stayman. Right-siding to opener is not an issue with mini-NT so no need for transfers. So 13-15's go into 1, and 1 is always 16+. I can imagine part of our success with this is due to the fact that opponents get caught unaware and it is more dangerous at higher levels.

2. We use four way transfers: 1->, 1->, 2->, 2->. Transfers to minors may not seem too useful, but it gets us to minor suit slams that are hard to bid otherwise from time to time. Acceptance of the transfer is a Beta asking bid, asking for controls (aces and kings). The 2-answer is a bit awkward now and then, but not too much so. This is one of our more recent additions, we started out with natural answers to save memory burden.

3. 1-1NT is 8-13. The wide range can be a bit tough to negotiate but all in all you'll manage. You can go through (transfer) Stayman to gather more info if needed. The advantage is as noted that 1-2NT is forcing to 4NT so gives you lots of space.

4. We chose to ignore and try yo cope for the time being. This is low on our priority list. It will sometimes force you to treat it as a NT-hand though. Ugly, but it doesn't come up that often.

5. We include the 5-4M hand in 2. The main reason is that the (43)15 need to go into 2 if you don't and that makes the response structure to 2 a lot more complicated. After 2 the 2-answer is forcing, asking for a 4 card major among other things.

6. Beta, Gamma and Epsilon asking bids fit well into this structure.

Hope this helps. Good luck and most of all: have fun. I know we do!
Aug. 31
Peter Hasperhoven edited this comment Aug. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, that de-escalated quickly.
July 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For better or for worse, we play step responses showing controls responding to 2. That makes it easy to play double as penalty, pass as first step, next bid as second step etc. If they stick their neck out, I need to have an axe.
Nov. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I generally go out of my way to not peek, then tell him to hold his cards back and then I warn him that I will tell him only once and that next time I will peek. I will let there be no mistake that I am only joking. This always does the trick. I will however never lose on purpose because opponent made a mistake. That would be silly.
Nov. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are 2 kinds of people.
1) Those that can extrapolate from incomplete data.
Nov. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ah yes, forgot about boxing! My bad.
March 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Show. Bridge is the only sport in which you don't know the score in a match until the very end. Ever wonder how a football game would go if a team could keep track of their own score but only be told about the other teams score (and win or loose) at the very end? Showing scores doesn't eliminate this problem (I still get a lot of 50%'s the first round) but it helps a little.

I think all the cons can be dealt with better by education than by technical restrictions.
March 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Isn't this Snapdragon? Some S-support (typically a doubleton) and 5 D's. Points are divided more or less equally, we'd like to compete.
March 5, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Good point. Of course it is a simple NO on all counts. However, once you've seen it, you cannot unsee it. One could argue that in a borderline case, active ethics require you to pass after a slow pass and bid after a fast one:-).
Jan. 26, 2017
Peter Hasperhoven edited this comment Jan. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The latter of course being exactly what happened. North, with Kxxxx thought hard about 5 but decided to pass eventually. Now South bid 5, West announced he reserved his rights and after 11 tricks were made, called the director. Who disallowed the call and rolled back to 4 making 5 for West as there was no way of losing more or less than 2 tricks.

Ironically, this was a good result (66%) for NS as the most common result was 5 doubled and making.
Jan. 26, 2017
Peter Hasperhoven edited this comment Jan. 26, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doen't it depend on the exact wording of the claim? If he said: “I concede a heart and make the rest”, that implies playing a heart first, after which he might lose 3 tricks. If he claimed “you make a heart at the end”, or “I run the diamonds and you make a heart”, that's another line which inevitably gives him the rest.
Dec. 9, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You're a week late. April Fools was last week.

If this is serious: no way of knowing it it's illegal short of studying the rules of this competition. There probably is nothing in there as noone will have thought this could ever come up. Next year's rules may be updated.

I would refuse as team A as it is a crazy idea. If you win this ‘final’, team B will be disappointed and underperform in the following semi. Hell, they might even throw it, of forfeit and go on a holiday. Hence you will definitely get to play another final against team C.

All of this shouldn't arise though. The rules should specify (or the organiser should decide) what happens if a deadline is not met. That's what deadlines are for. Either team B of team C is to blame and the other team is appointed winner. If both are guilty, both lose the semi, neither goes to the final and team A wins the competition by walkover. It can hardly be that neither is guilty, as these deadlines seem to have been published way in advance.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't normally psyche, but some time ago in a social game with my regular partner as LHO, in third seat, Red vs. White I opened 1S on xxx Jxxx Qxx xxx. If you tell a lie, you better make it a big one.

It went:
p - (p) - 1S - (x)
1N - (p) - p - (x)
p - (2D) - a.p.

LHO had 23 HCP but projected a Yarborough with his partner. 2D was 2 up, 3NT would have been cold. Afther the hand was over, he looked at my hand, yelled “OK, you win, but I don't like this at all!”. This nearly ended our partnership:-). I never even dream of psyching with him as partner.
April 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Insert a 6 in square brackets between the 2 dots in the URL. :-)
Dec. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Made me think of a 3400-disaster the Dutch ladies team had at the 2011 Venice Cup. See page 15 of http://www.worldbridge.org/bulletin/11_2%20Veldhoven/Veldhoven.2011.Bulletin..pdf. They won the match and went on to collect a bronze medal though.
Dec. 18, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You probably owe the opponents a beer.

Oct. 1, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That 2NT-3NT agreement to show 5/4 is called the “beer convention”, at least in these parts, because it is so often forgotten and the player who forgets owes his partner a beer.

Just this week it brought me a near-top as my partner passed 3NT and continued to make 3NT+3 whereas almost everybody else was in 4+2. It also got me a beer, obviously.
Sept. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
True. And the -lead is even less attractive now: if you don't hit partner, you'll be the laughing stock and if you do, you'll be accused of cheating. So it's a lose-lose. Hmmmm.
Sept. 1, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Interesting and well thought-through proposal. Probably should change ACBL to WBF? I hardly think this is Mid-term though.

But after reading Bird/Anthias, in the example the Q-lead looks very tempting even without cheating: partner has some -length and even if my 's can be setup, will I live to enjoy them? Maybe I should reread the book though:-)

Anyway: a round of beer is always a good idea!
Sept. 1, 2015
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top