Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Phil Clayton
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 191 192 193 194
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed it does.
7 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With AKx Qxxx KJxx xx, I would rebid 2 (Yes)

With x xx KQxxx AKxxx, I really doubt I am rebidding 2.

So I guess I am having a hard time understanding these poll choices.
Feb. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agree. But a generation ahead of us splits with the “card they would have led”.
Feb. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kokish is what I play when using weak NT's where the 2N rebid shows 15-17. Playing strong NT, 2N is too “bulky” with a flat 12-14.
Feb. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So much a visionary he apparently has added an “h” to his name as proof of evolution.
Feb. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would tend to rebid 2 always with five. If I didn't have five diamonds, I would bid my cheapest four card major. If I had neither I would rebid 2N or raise clubs.

That seems more or less standard. But I can see myself breaking this rule a lot.

AKx AKJx Jxxxx x - I'd bid 2

x Axx AKxxx KQxx - I'd splinter
Feb. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If someone opens 1N Id expect theyd land in 3N.
Feb. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many would open that 1N.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doesn't seem particularly consistent to not call the East hand a GF and then bound to slam.

West did nothing wrong. East made one serious and one egregious error.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I watched myself pooch a 3N from a recent match.

However, I don't know how practical these videos are without being able to see the cards in everyone's hands.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In practice Id be more worried about a player saying undiscussed which would allow them to weasel out with a pass based on the question even if the call were forcing.

If I held xx xxxxx xxxx xx and asked if the call was forcing id be taken out and shot.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Asking if the call is forcing could be done but its a tricky situation.

I dont think North has an obligation to volunteer the info either.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many (including myself) play 4 as a one round force. If North is made aware of this then he can pass. East bids 4 and…..whoops there it is!

Does EW have a history of forgetting agreements? Do they really preempt over a preempt?

I really want to give this pair a PP. But with bile in my mouth Id likely rule result stands.
Feb. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think its reasonable to play 1 - 2 as either a GF or a balanced 11-12 that intends on passing or bidding 2N. This caters to a tricky hand type.

Otherwise, there's too much pressure on slam bidding to not play 2/1 as a total GF.
Feb. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In hell, all our LHOs pop 9.
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree it’s a slam drive, but I’d still start with 4N.
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kokish should be added before anything else.
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Suggest you give up stopping in a part-score when a 2 opener rebids 3m. Barring that, play 3 as either a negative or stayman.

This allows 3M to be bid on 5.
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed are you aware of an inconsistency?
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the ACBL, it is marked in red on the CC so it requires an alert.

There are plenty of natural calls that require alerts, btw.
Feb. 11
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 191 192 193 194
.

Bottom Home Top