Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Pierre Schmidt
1 2 3 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lol. I know there is a scripting language and I use it for simple things. What % of bridge players are professional programmers, in your opinion ?
Let's now do a test : I would appreciate to know how you can program the BBO hand generator with these parameters :
West : exactly the following 13 cards
A109
KJ654
J2
AQ10
East : a one spade opening, with one only ace (not two)
South : 6+ cards in including 2 of the top 3 honors
North : 10+ “distribution points” between his hand and South's hand (a void = 5 points, a singleton = 3, a doubleton = 1)
Thank you.
Jan. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Where can I find the user's manual of this scripting language, so that I can answer your question ?
Jan. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm pretty sure at the table I would play A at trick 2, followed by another .
It's hard to find a distribution where the defense can create 4 tricks after this play.
I'm sure there are some but this is the second board of the round and we are short of time.
Jan. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
DealMasterPro has a powerful hand generator, with many many more options and parameters than the BBO hand generator.
I use DMPro for statistical works only, because you can't play on DMPro.
Years ago, I asked BBO's support how I could import the hands generated by DMPro into BBO and they said it could not be done. But that was years ago… I suppose that if you ask the question today, someone has an easy-to-use solution that makes it possible to generate hands with sophisticated parameters and next play them “at the table”
Jan. 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Line “B” should take into account the “second” chance of Q(x) in . Not a detail, but does not change the conclusion.
Also : you don't have the 9 of between both hands, so the single 10 does not help in your Plan “A”.
If I'm not wrong …
Jan. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David … I'll give up after this last comment : you say declarer will first repeat the Diamond finesse before playing on spades. If you really like that, OK, but in the actual layout he will still go down … count his tricks please ! 0 + 3 + 3 + 2 = 8 only.
So, again, as East, I can't lose anything by winning trick 2 with the Diamond Ace. One off if declarer repeats immediately the Diamond finesse, and two off if he plays on Spades first, which most declarers will do at the table.
Jan. 9
Pierre Schmidt edited this comment Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm probably missing something but I don"t catch your point, David. With the East's hand you suggest, declarer can repeat the Diamond finesse or play on Spades first and he will make his contract (West has no Club left). And if East holds xxxx xx AQx QJ98 why would he win trick 2 with the Ace of Diamond ? No way that can lead to 2 down. He will duck.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As I tried to explain, it's impossible in real life that a declarer decides to endplay East !
If declarer has 3 Spades only, it's really obvious he will repeat the Diamond finesse (he has 8 tricks only). If he has 4 (which is very unlikely), he won't give away overtricks.
Jan. 9
Pierre Schmidt edited this comment Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David : if declarer repeats first the Diamond finesse, what did I lose ?
Dominic : even if declarer started with 4 spades, he will never cash his 9 tricks. Nobody gives away one or two “obvious” overtricks. If you do so, as a declarer, you will never win any competition !
Peter : first of all, the “prefect count” is given only if West makes the mistake to discard one Spade. And even though declarer cashes the major suit winners he has only eight tricks. He will repeat the Diamond finesse because if not, he would go down one with the Queen of Diamond by West … which is then tough to explain to your team !
So, several of you miscount the tricks. If I win with the Ace and declarer tries to play one round of Spades, I win and return a Club again. Declarer has only 8 safe tricks at this point. Absolutely impossible, in real life, that he does not repeat the Diamond finesse.
Jan. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually, what's interesting in this deal is that, if East wins the first Diamond with the ACE, it's likely 2 down instead of one. After a Club switch, declarer will play on Spades. East wins and play another Club. After declarer repeats the Diamond finesse, he is down 2 … Ciao Deep finesse !!
Jan. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“If anyone has access to Deep finesse, I ask you please to verify my hunch that that’s what Ms Finesse said is the right play by East at trick two.”
Everyone has an easy access to Deep finesse : on BBO, you have it under “my BBO”, “hands played and results”, “editing hands”…
What Ms Finesse says is that play the Queen or the small diamond beats the contract by one trick and that play the Ace leads to… 9 tricks (indeed East is victim of a throw-in squeeze, as long as declarer does not repeat the diamond finesse.)
So Ms Finesse does not say the best line is to duck. It says it is as good as winning with the Queen and returning a Club.
The rest if the responsibility of the author.
Jan. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have a very simple Excel file to answer questions of that type. If you give me your email address, I will be pleased to forward it to you.
Jan. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2/ and 3/ are correct (although you can add 0,5% for singleton Queen for the 2/)
1/ 5-2 break is 31%, so Qx is about 9% (plus Q singleton 1% from a 6-1 break)
31% is the “a priori” probability. If, say, you have already seen 5 cards from other suits in opponent's hand (so there are 8 “places” left in each hand) the 5-2 probability is reduced (logical) to 27% .. so it becomes even less attractive to play for Queen to fall from Qx
Of course, nobody calculates that at the table !!
Dec. 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The daily tournament with (and against) wbridge5 can be found here : http://bridgez.net:3002/playonthecloud
The version of Wbridge5 is a simplified one, because the “true” one (used by Yves Costel for the world championships) would be too slow on your PC. However, the level of play is quite good.
Argine (the bot of Funbridge) is quite good also. You can challenge it on Funbridge and you need to be a real expert if you want to win more than you lose in your head-to-head challenges.
All of that being said, existing bridge bots play a different game because they don't “think” as we do and they are unable to explain why they do what they do. They perform simulations. It's not really Artificial Intelligence. Still, when you understand their “logic” it can be fun to play with them.
There is indeed in France, nowadays, a team of AI experts (Véronique Ventos is the leader) who raised significant money to develop a bridge bot based on “true AI”, with capabilities to explain, comment and, therefore, be a nice learning tool. They believe they need a couple of year before they have a first version playing at a decent level.
Dec. 22, 2018
Pierre Schmidt edited this comment Dec. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2NT natural
X = minors OR game try in Hearts (I will bid 3 Hearts after my partner bids 3 in a minor)
Dec. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As many other players, I'm unsure today of exactly the events I will play in and therefore the length of my stay. I'd be happy to make a reservation already and I can see that modification / cancellation is possible until June 1st. But it seems that, if you make your reservation now, you have to provide a credit card number not only to guarantee the payment but you will “enjoy” an immediate debit for the total of your reservation (between 1.000 and 2.000 euros depending on your room's selection if you stay 2 weeks).
That seems quite unusual…
Is that really the policy that applies ?
What are the guarantees if, say (we have seen that already with the previous site selected in Kukadasi) the hotel (or travel agency) gets broke before the event ?? Who will reimburse me ?
Dec. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
France : many different formats have been used over the years. Today it's more or less stabilized as follows :
- Seniors and Mixed : teams of 6 / KO format. The selection committee selects the teams authorized to participate among all candidates. Usually 10-12 teams at the start of the trials.
- Open and Ladies : by pairs. Usually about 20 pairs “approved” by the committee can participate. Two full weeks of play to reduce the field to 6 pairs (imp scoring). At the end 3 times 3 days against 6 pairs from other countries. Top 3 finishers are normally selected. .A total of nearly 1.000 boards.
In case one team representing France wins a medal in the European or World championship, the team is often renewed for the next championship(s).
Dec. 11, 2018
Pierre Schmidt edited this comment Dec. 11, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just facts.
Nov. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I personally don't believe PZ, whathever happens, is in the mood of engaging a lawsuit against the EBL. You can ask him. Of course, one may think that it was a wrong decision not to appeal the CAS arbitration but the fact is that the EBL (M. Aubry being president) did not. So now, there is no base for the EBL to disqualify Monaco… or that would be a “fait du prince” and I would not find it acceptable (by principle), despite considering if would be an outstanding act of courage.
Nov. 14, 2018
Pierre Schmidt edited this comment Nov. 14, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The decision is not Pierre Zimmermann's or his teammates'decision. It's the Monaco bridge federation's decision. Zimmermann is not even a board member of this federation.
Nov. 14, 2018
1 2 3 4
.

Bottom Home Top