Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Rich Regan
1 2 3 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As with other BIT type rulings… this is an example of bridge laws I do not like. As it is, the rule is basically … “ if partner hesitates, I cannot make a good bid”. “I must make a bid, or pass, that has no logical alternative.” So, after a hesitation, I lose. Note… no one ever argues if the 7H goes down one.

In this particular case, West was clearly trying for 2 or 3 bites at the apple.
Sept. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm gonna play the Ace and then the King of hearts.
Sept. 20
Rich Regan edited this comment Sept. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Eh… just guessing here, I don't know. But I'd bet 2 of the 3 others are Wold and Passell ( + maybe Jacobus). And on a personal note…. just as a fan… I'm gonna be cheering for team Levine to finish ahead of team Nickel.
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Levine
Sept. 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So maybe I can get up at 5 am every morning and watch a match…
Sept. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Martin, with your example hand… couldn't North have bid 3H instead of 4C ?
Sept. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Majority blaming the 4N bid. My partner would have never had the chance to bid 4N, because I bid 5D over 4C.
Sept. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think we are making 3N, but it is a vul game at Imps. Passing 2N is like trying to thread the needle in a small hole. Won't be the first time I am -500
Sept. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand partners bidding… but it is not up to me. He assumed captaincy of the auction.
Aug. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I expect to beat 3S….. I PASS !
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
xx AQxx Tx KQJxx
Aug. 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2D = not enough offense, too much defense, and hardly interferes with the opps finding their spot. And you'll cringe when partner bids 5D over opps 4S.

3D = not without peril. Gonna get a few -800's … and gonna keep opps out of their best spot often as well. I suspect you, Peg, seldom go for 800. Live a little… it's fun on the edge ! :)

I might remind you that my first choice is PASS….
June 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My preference, due to Spade suit, is Pass.
2nd choice - 3D (If you want to do some damage… might as well maximize it)
3rd choice 1D - If partner has Spades you might be golden
I see no value in opening 2D
June 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Leanard, so .1 (Trying to keep the same format….) ?
June 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Meaning having money to play in larger tournaments ? Could be, I dunno… I have often experimented with better ways to evaluate than masterpoints. This may be folly as well.
June 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The double was a game try. Partner is to bid 3H to not accept game try, or 4H to accept. Other bids are cue bids and are slammish by opener. 3N would be choice of games, probably showing 3 hearts.
June 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my partnerships, once we have agreed on a major fit, we don't mess around trying to find other fits… we bid or we cue bid. For me - 4C can only be a cue bid… and of course it would deny a spade control.
June 1
Rich Regan edited this comment June 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Daniel

If you don't address your comments to a specific person, in this BW format…. sometimes it can be unclear as to whom you are referring. GMAFB - I Googled and now know. Rhetoric and Hyperbole I am familiar with, but could not spell, and not sure of context, and certainly not in my working vocabulary.

So I do numbers good, and that helps with bridge… but I am unclear as to whom you were addressing your comments…
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yikes Max !
I'm with Passell and Meck in thinking George did the bold and correct thing. I don't think it is beneath anything. I respectfully disagree with Michael, the mixed team winner… in believing that participating in multiple events should be fine and ok with no repercussions for winning twice. I don't know the best fix… but I extremely dislike the current rules.

Rich
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Brad,
“however im not going to standby and watch you impugn the integrity of someone who obviously deserves far better”

First, way to stick up for the guy paying you. 2nd, you didn't argue the merits of what George is speaking. I don't see how a reasonable person can disagree as to the ridiculous format of the USBF. It looks like Michael's team has won the mixed. Now he is to play in the seniors ? This isn't about Marty's integrity. It is about his horrible decision making.

Rich
May 29
1 2 3 4
.

Bottom Home Top