Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Richard Fleet
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 700 701 702 703
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Surely most married couples have a rule designed to prevent this occurrence.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Given that it would have been easy to draft an unambiguous regulation, it is surprising that the ACBL failed to do so.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Given that his partner passed over 2NT, it is difficult to construct a West hand justifying a 4 bid which would pass over 3.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd be slightly more inclined to lead the suit (though Brad makes a good point). However dummy could have 10xxx and partner J9.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Facing a passed hand with the suits not splitting, it seems wiser not to get involved.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It depends on methods. If 4 shows a strong balanced hand, I bid on. If it might be distributional (e.g. Kxxx A AJ QJ10xxx), I pass.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Agreed, so two tricks to the defence.

When making the claim, he did not see the potential of holding his spade losers to one. There are at least two ways of losing two tricks in the suit so I don't see why he should be credited with only losing one.
6 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Reese wrote about it in a series of monthly articles in British Bridge World, 1963.

There is also a summary of LM in Bridge for Tournament Players (Reese and Dormer, Robert Hale, 1968). There are several differences between the two versions.
7 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double showing diamonds and hope to be able to bid 2 on the next round.
10 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The conventional double for a heart lead dates back to the pre-Auction days when dealer had to choose the denomination or pass it to his partner to choose. Since hearts were the highest-scoring denomination (higher than NT), it was logical to assume that the choosing of NT rather than hearts was a suggestion of heart weakness.
10 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
No, we play the old-fashioned R-S method.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed - well remembered.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
7 was an over-statement in my view (though the duplication of singletons was unlucky). Surely opener could have had a hand such as AQx Qxxxx KQx xx for this sequence to 4?
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Absent discussion, partner's double could be any of penalty, strong balanced or take-out. It is impossible to make a sensible bid when having no idea of the meaning of the double.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am quite happy with a 2 response playing more free-wheeling methods. But playing BWS, it's a choice between 2 and 2NT and I opt for the former since 2NT takes up a lot of space.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Passing is only recommended if partner is skilled in playing 4-1 fits.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is this a MP or an IMP event?

FWIW, I would seriously consider a heart lead absent UI in an IMP event.
11 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In my view, double should indicate a suitable hand for defence. Without one, East can bid 2 instead.
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whilst 5 or 5 might be technically right, what are we waiting for on this hand? I think that it's a question of 6 or 7 and wouldn't dream of making a bid which might result in us stopping in 5 (just imagine partner bidding a slow 5 over 5).
16 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Patrick, I am sure that you will recall that, in a World Championship, two eminent French players once bid a grand slam missing all four aces after using Blackwood.
16 hours ago
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 700 701 702 703
.

Bottom Home Top