Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Robb Gordon
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is nothing illegal about the question. The player is entitled to ask a question at his turn. HOWEVER Law 16B1 states:

Any extraneous information from partner that might suggest a call or play is unauthorized. This includes remarks, questions, replies to questions, unexpected alerts or failures to alert, unmistakable hesitation, unwonted speed, special emphasis, tone, gesture, movement or mannerism.

Therefore, per Law 16B1(a): A player may not choose a call or play that is demonstrably suggested over another by unauthorized information if the other call or play is a logical alternative.

In other words, you are free to break tempo or ask a question, but in doing so you may create an obligation for your partner that works to your detriment.
March 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“ what if I went to a tournament threatened another player could I argue can't suspend it is not cheating?” The ACBL has jurisdiction over tournaments so I don't understand the question.
March 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The last few were. I am pretty sure Bobby Wolff and Bob Rosen were not.
March 4
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am an employee. I thought that was well known.
March 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have been with the ACBL since September 2017. I realize things were done a bit “differently” historically. I am trying to do better. But I can't answer for any past sins.
March 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We are getting WAY off topic here, but I will respond to a couple of things.

1. “a player at my club threatened another player and his wife”
Indeed that is very bad behavior, but it isn't cheating at bridge.

2. “… if I bar a player with a very valid reason why do I have to allow him back to play if I run a STAC or any special game?”

You do NOT have to allow him to play if when you bar him, it is an “extended” barring. However, that portion of the barring may be appealed to the Unit Board. Only that portion.
March 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Randy Breuer, not quite true. Under Unit Jurisdiction:

CDR 2.2.1 (d) Persons participating in a club sponsored ACBL sanctioned event held within the Unit’s geographical boundaries relating to Complaints of alleged (i) cheating by use of signals, other unauthorized information or other forms of cheating or (ii) serious breaches of ethics.
March 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That’s true Don. Perhaps I should have waited for that on Monday but I thought the subject was of sufficient interest to put it out to the community sooner.
March 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Robb doesn't. This was not a unilateral statement.
March 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Although David Burn and I seem to agree on the correct ruling here, I disagree with one of his comments in this thread.

“No, it isn't. 5♠ is an enquiry made by the man in charge of the auction. 6♥ is a sign-off made by the man in charge of the auction. And you bid seven. You genius, you”

MANY pairs (at least on this side of the pond) play this or any bid that makes playing a slam inevitable promises all the keycards. Some don't. But I don't think this pronouncement is valid since it is hardly universal.
Feb. 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I understand “spiral scan” (not sure I do) then instead of 6H (or 7H) the 6H bidder could have continued the inquiry with 6C. By choosing to bid 6H, he denies interest in moving on. He could have hands (usually with a stiff club) where such action makes sense. The BIT is Unauthorized Information. The BIT suggested doubt about course of action. Is pass a logical alternative? According to Law 16B1b “A logical alternative is an action that a significant proportion of the class of players in question, using the methods of the partnership, would seriously consider, and some might select.”

After polling I suspect that it is likely that under this definition pass could be considered a Logical Alternative. If that happens, the 7H bid should be disallowed.

Whether you or I would have bid 7 is irrelevant. You or I would have bid 7 if we intended to do so over the scan rather than responding. Since this player “forgot” to bid 7 when he could have, he doesn't get a do-over.
Feb. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't understand one of the potential answers. You ask about what to play to encourage. You are asking what a correct attitude signal is. Why would count be relevant? If you didn't specify encouragement, that choice would be appropriate.
Feb. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It would be nice to make a forcing pass, but since 3 wouldn't be forcing, a pass higher than 3 can't be forcing either.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
First Class Mail went from 2c to 3c on November 3, 1917 for the war effort. It was reduced back to 2c on July 1, 1919. There was also a 3c rate during the 1860s but it was limited to 1/2 oz.
Feb. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think that for most experts this is a “pre-balance” situation and 2NT can be quite frisky. To me Pass is clear.
Feb. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After a 1NT overcall a simple 2 bid may not give you the chance to bid again. 2NT should not be a completely preemptive action between two bidding partners that haven't shown a fit. It is very dangerous.
Feb. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like my 5 bid over 3NT that wasn't very popular. I don't want the “last guess” so I avoid that problem.
Jan. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The question is what 2NT shows. To me, NV, it suggests offense without a lot of defense. With this hand I bid 2 and judge whether to bid 3 if I have the opportunity. Yes, sometimes it will go 2 p 4 and I am fixed (maybe).
Jan. 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“In some of my partnerships I play that 2♦ in response to 2♣ promises values and 2♥ becomes the ”second negative“. ” I avoid these issues because I refuse to play that. I play either 2D negative and 2H artificial POSITIVE or plain old 2D waiting. I like the Kokish convention and playing the 2H negative makes it practically worthless.
Jan. 21
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I object. Peter Noone in Herman's Hermits “Mrs. Brown”. https://youtu.be/lv8k0VI9tBc
Jan. 19
.

Bottom Home Top