Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Roger Bryant
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We were only thinking about them getting at the hand records somehow. It didn't occur to us that they had other methods. Because we weren't watching for the board placement, I guess we didn't notice it.
I remember offering Fisher a sweet, but can't recall whether that was prompted by him coughing (which wouldn't be unusual in bracing British spring weather). I also noticed dummy getting up and walking around a bit sometimes, but I just assumed he needed to stretch his legs towards the end of a long tournament.
OK, with hindsight, much would have been different.
April 23, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Paul, you were at the table and I was not. The TD certainly ruled on the A lead - perhaps EW said something out of your earshot - and that lead was the subject of the Appeal.
I totally accept that South was unaware of the BiT. The UI hands from the Reisinger reminded me of this hand and that's why I posted it: there is no agenda.
You see, if I had been South and had noticed a BiT, here's how I would have reasoned.
Oppo seem to be sound bidders - hence the leap to game - so what could partner have for his hesitation? As I have only 2 s, there's a fair chance that he's got them. And so, to ensure I wasn't taking advantage, I'd have led a trump. OK, I know the part of England where I play is a quaint backwater, but that's how we think.
The Appeals Committee decided that there was no merit in the Appeal and that EW should forfeit £30. Their decision was a game-changer for me. From now on, I resolved, I'm going to be much more ruthless.
Except that I have changed my mind again, having read Boye's impassioned postings to the Reisinger threads.
Dec. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As someone who plays once a week but sometimes ventures into major competitions, I'm sure I would have claimed quickly on the hand. I would have noticed the Club blockage but would have thought, hey, it is so obvious to play Clubs first that there's no point mentioning it to expert opponents. If they wondered, could they not ask me to state my line?
OK, I did not know the rules. I had no idea of the punitive consequences of the silent claim. (Look, the Laws are a massive tome and I'm not prepared to study and learn them just to play a game of bridge.)
Now I know how careful one needs to be when playing against some of those who have contributed to this thread.
Oct. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, I'll be on-site and we aim to broadcast 6 tables throughout. If you are in the area, you are welcome to come to Milton Keynes and watch the play.
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's look at the actual hand and piece together what might have happened:

♠ A
♥ A 7
♦ A K Q T 7 3
♣ K Q T 9

♠ 4 3
♥ T
♦ 9 6 5 4
♣ A 8 6 5 3 2

Declarer received a Heart lead to 7NT. Seeing so much strength and not wishing to waste time, Declarer instinctively claimed. (Of course the contract would have made if, instead of the instinctive claim, Declarer had played it out.) A ruthless and ridiculously over-competitive opponent saw the chance of a big haul of undeserved IMPs.
Oct. 24, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ah, yes, my time travelling fantasy is to go back to 1992, go into a Betting Shop and ask to put a bet on Denmark. “You can't, mate, they've been knocked out.” I know, but let me bet all the same. “Well, if you really insist, I'll offer 1000-1.”
Next week Serbia were disqualified for invading neighbouring countries. (It was their army that did the invading, not their footballers!) Denmark replaced them and won the event, beating newly-reunified Germany in the Final.
“Brave bet, mate. Here's your £20,000.”
Sept. 24, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top