Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Sathya Bettadapura
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 59 60 61 62
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lots of interesting variations here. RHO can win the Spade Quack and continue with a Club. Now when you run the J it holds. You of course have to suspect that RHO would have covered it if he had the King as he doesn’t know you have the Ten. So you then lead a Heart to Ace, take the Spade finesse for nine tricks. If you repeat the Heart finesse LHO wins and returns a Spade and you will lose two more Diamond tricks.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
May be I was influenced by the preponderance of 3 making +1. Any thoughts on how you would play the hand ?
March 13
Sathya Bettadapura edited this comment March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for spotting it. Fixed now, RHO discards 5 on the second trump.
March 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As many of you might have suspected I polled to find out how popular Pass was going to be.

What's the downside to raising ? Partner may make an aggressive game try and go down in 3 or get to a bad 4. Obvious downside to passing is that you can miss game easily. It appears as though passing is right when 7 tricks are the limit. And lo and behold that was exactly the lay-out ! Partner has KJxx xxx QTx Jxx !

LHO leads a small to RHO's K, A. LHO wins the third and has a tough exit. It started with Qxx Qxxx Kxx Qxx. RHO is xx AKx Jxxx KTxx. If it exists a small , you lose two tricks but can place LHO with K and Q given RHO's first seat pass.

And of course someone did find a PASS ! Declarer wasn't tested when LHO exited a trump after winning the third .
March 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sure why not. You not be able to bid it, but if partner has Kxxxxx x KQxx xx you do have 12 tricks when trumps are 2-1.
March 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sure of course. But this is hand that'd accept any game try or slam try. Despite the poor shape three Aces is quite a decent holding. Since when is 1 non-forcing ?
March 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You mean much like the way the verdict in the OJ trial was correct given that the rules governing jury trial were adhered to ?
Dec. 7, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When you said committee rulings were fair I thought you were talking about National events. I’m not terribly interested in rulings in regionals and sectionals although even there your chances are not all that great if you’re up against players of renown.
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ed,
What’s the basis for saying that old committee was fair to all. I am familiar with three or four situations that involved rulings against top players. “Fair” is the one word that I wouldn’t use to describe those rulings. Please share your experience with us and enlighten us.
Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Normally when you look at Qxx opp a void you think of the Queen as wasted value in a high-level Notrump contract. Of course it’s wasted for trick-taking purposes, but we all know now that trick-taking is not the only consideration in winning titles. Imagine that the Queen and Jack of Diamonds were swapped. Now South could have hesitated for 7.05 seconds which is an eternity plus 0.05 seconds and yet no committee could stop the lead of K from a holding of KQxxx. Or could they ?
Dec. 6, 2018
Sathya Bettadapura edited this comment Dec. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Great. Thanks. In view of Grue’s denial of first round control 4Nt gets key cards except the A.
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry I don’t quite understand. Does EKB need to be alerted or not. If 4Nt was EKB why does the bidding diagram say RKCB. Too, if 4Nt was EKB, Grue’s comment that ‘he could have a void’ doesn’t make sense.
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have a question about the auction. According to the bidding diagram above 4Nt is annotated as ‘RKCB’. RKCB does not require an alert. But a few posters including Michael Hargreaves have said that 4Nt is exclusion for given East’s Pass over the double of 4. If 4Nt was meant as EKB does it need a self-alert ? If so was it alerted at the table ?
Dec. 5, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Multi-team events have a lot of flaws in picking a true winner. But that’s for another thread. This being the thread to congratulate winners, I’ll not say more.
Dec. 4, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Congratulations to the winners and close runners up Mittelman's 4-man squad. The two teams met each other in the penultimate round but the winner was decided to some extent by what happened at the table of their rival in the last round. If I remember correctly it came down to board #27 when the two teams had different results.

I wish the format could be changed/extended to allow the teams to control their own fate. What if we could have the top four teams after 3 days to get into a KO match on the fourth day with one semi-final session and one final session. Or take the top two teams after the first final session on the 3rd day and have a KO match between them.
Dec. 3, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hope your comment is invisible to Justin Lall :)
Dec. 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When I looked at the hand without knowing the auction I thought it might go 1-1-3-4-5(exclusion). Now when West bids 7 East will not correct to 7nt without the A. Does anyone else understand why 4 instead of 5 over 4 and the subsequent 4nt ?
Dec. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m aware that the opinion I’m about to express is a minority opinion and may be misconstrued as being disrespectful to the winners. I’ll still express it though because I’m convinced that it’s absolutely nothing personal about the specific individuals involved and that I’m reacting to the situation on hand.
Bobby and Joe are not just great players but rather something of a force to reckon with in this game, which is why their decision to appeal their result on board 23 in the first final session disappoints me. Let’s say there was no UI at all and opponents had led another suit and let 7nt make giving you a top. That happens and most people would accept their good fortune just as they would accept an unfortunate one. I’d be the first to acknowledge that we got lucky at the expense of the pair right behind me but that’d pretty much be the end of the story. But I’d not go out of the way to fight for a result that I clearly didn’t deserve. It’s questionable on so many levels. Even if I prevailed it’d be nothing but a Pyrrhic victory. There’d always be an asterisk attached to this National title. I’d be responsible for consciously denying another deserving pair of their legitimate victory and I’d have to live with that forever. If I had as many titles as either of these guys, I’d want every future title to be totally legitimate, totally untainted. Just because you are within your rights to press for advantage, it doesn’t mean it’s mandatory. I’d want to be known as the pair that declined to derive advantage in a marginal situation rather than one that appealed and prevailed. Sometimes you win by choosing to lose and sometimes you lose when you fight to win at any cost.
Dec. 1, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With a grand cold in any suit except , a pair reaches 7nt and is accidentally saved by their opponent’s UI. These things happen of course, but don’t tell me you have to like it or even reconcile to it. I like this game a lot when skill determines the winner and loathe it when dumb unplanned luck selects the winner.
Nov. 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have always wondered how WC manages to duplicate boards even they don't have to like the R16 or R8 of a KO event for instance, but ACBL refuses to do so even when they absolutely should like the Open Swiss events at the end of Spring and Summer NABCs or the qualifying rounds of NA Swiss in Fall. How does it make sense to compare VPs across matches that don't play the same boards ?
Oct. 1, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 59 60 61 62
.

Bottom Home Top