Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Scott Needham
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 35 36 37 38
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bummer
10 hours ago
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If its just natural aftr the positive/waiting 2, no Kokish, what's wrong with 3 after 3, and 4 after 3? Then 4-4N/4 keys-Q ask/6 pass? W doesn't know E is 5-5; E could overbid.
Dec. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Big, bal; GF with ; then throw in a big 4x1 for good measure
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Waxing nostalgic for Vanessi"s
Nov. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thank you RR: My understanding of Lightner vs. slam has always been: Make an unusual lead. One of my partners insists it is dummy's first bid, to which I respond ‘then don’t call it Lightner.' He persists. Sigh.
Nov. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is SI. 3N by opener might mean 2-2 majors or 3=2 majors. In either case, responder's 4m shows the hand. Now, 4N by opener is offer to play, 4M sets trumps. In eithr case, responder can move.
Yes, responder will play any contract–not at all bad in slams, and only wrongsides , just as AK's method below wrongsides . If you want to invert 3 and 3N by responder, OK only so long as 3N is forcing–hmmmmmm.
Oct. 23
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The Buzzard: 2N-3/3-3: up to now its normally 5-4. Usual rebid here is 3N, 4 or 4 (maybe you play 4m as a cue for ). Any fit-showing bid is super duper, but over 3N, responder bids 4m stiff to show the 5-5 SI hand. In Billy Miller's version (Sept 2010 Bulletin), over 3 opener can bid 4 as a super-accept for , 4 for , but this auction seems to allow for 3cd; in any case 4 or 4 is simply an “ordinary” hand.
Oct. 23
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Really? Because I generally have no idea what other considerations might inform the choice….Maybe I should've added “No other discernible tendencies.” See Hank Meyer's, below.
Oct. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seems like the proper stock answer would be something like “Partner will look at his/her hand in light of his/her interpretation of the auction and decide whether to lead actively or passively. ‘Passive’ might include leading from a J, while ‘active’ would usually include leading from shortness or a high honor.”
Oct. 20
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4N and 5m are always intended to play. Q ask is the next non-4N,5m call, here 5.
Oct. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We allow 2M openers on 5cds. What's wrong with opening all less than Rule of 22 mitts with 2M – even more preemptive – and maintaining some defensive standards for the 1M openers?
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hypothesis so wrong….
Oct. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pard uses honor loser count – so yes.

EDIT: That's AKQ honor count, so each above = 3 losers.
Oct. 12
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Anyone up for some sim help? I'm floating the hypothesis that there are very few if any 11-count 4432 7 loser hands and that the 7-loser 11-count requires a 5cd suit. Also, a canonical 7-loser 11-count will contain at least 1 1/2 QTs. Hah!
Oct. 12
Scott Needham edited this comment Oct. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pard has refined his talking points: Won't open 8+ loser hands. Which in this context, I suppose, means the 11 count 1 has to include a 5cd minor. OTOH, AKxx Axxx xx xxx is 8 losers, and I open it all day: Thank you Edgar.
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not dumping this guy. I'm gonna learn this style, and let him take all the blame for its failures. That's more than just, isn't it?
Oct. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is 4 by N after S's 3 just a torture bid or does it suggest a major suit?
Oct. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Remember, in the Old Days, that warm fuzzy feeling of clarity when partner made a Strong Jump Shift (my suit, your suit or NT)? IMHO, (probably too) frequently stated here, the best thing about 2-Way or XYZ is the ability to recover a description of responder's SJS hands by his/her jump rebids. One side effect of this is the use of XYZ or XYN-2N–>3C to show the weak hand (or as a relay into other strong 3-level rebids). Too good to give up.
Oct. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ER: Dist 6 has done itself and bridge players everywhere a disservice by modifying their site to exclude all of these extremely valuable and interesting articles. Who doesn't want to know what experts prefer? The link I provided is to an Indian site that apparently archived the old D6 pages, but it is only the Game Try article. For the rest,:
http://bridgeinindia.homestead.com/WASHINGTON_BRIDGE_LEAGUE_DT_6.html
Sept. 29
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 35 36 37 38
.

Bottom Home Top