Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Shäné Blänchärd
1 2 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And Geoff, would you classify a top on a -450 board in a 10-board session as far from expected value?
Sept. 20, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
^My Swedish isn't so good but I think he said: Please show team Wortel :)
March 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Best thing I've ever read on BW.
Nov. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seems Gawrys and Klukoswki have painted themselves and the rest of their BB team in to a corner here. You cannot withdraw from one event because your teammates cheated and keep your medal for the other… Vacating the BB win must be on the horizon.
Nov. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only pleasant thing about the Reisinger in its current form is the duration. 6 Day Reisinger is just cruel!
Oct. 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Spineless, pan-handling WBF won't kick them out because they are hosting the World Bridge Games in Wroclaw, Poland 2016. Deep pocketed sponsors are holding the WBF hostage, giving berth to yet another proud tradition in this era of bridge: the NBO that is set to host upcoming WBF event gets a license to cheat. See the Verona incident(As it relates to Shanghai/Beijing). Same sad story, different sad day.
Oct. 3, 2015
Shäné Blänchärd edited this comment Oct. 5, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Drops the mic….
Sept. 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Except that it's actually “I buried Paul”
Sept. 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Colors were important to know on this hand. I forgot they play multi but if they were white I'd still not consider partner having AQJT9x of diamonds and failing to open 3D and not bidding 2/1 in comp as a passed hand nor 3D WJS? Stiff Q with declarer would make this all possible though, I suppose.
Aug. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Recognized and edited while you must've been typing. Dying for the answer now! I cant imagine anything being clear cut right or wrong. I would never play a club and my inferences have ruled out a diamond
Aug. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Im going deep on the opening lead inferences:

Partner led a dangerous looking trump with no real expectation of killing dummies ruffs.
This marks Partner with club length (3+)— hed certainly lead xx or shorter- we know he has no honors and he knows my clubs are well situated. Furthermore, if im light, I most likely have good clubs.
Declarer probably has a pitch coming on the K of D or the Q of clubs.
Partner failed to lead diamond sequence meaning declarer has atleast 1 of JT9. If declarer has the Q of diamonds, he also has the J, T, or 9. (Partner definitely wouldve led a diamond sequence instead of a trump)

Possible plays are
1. spade to catch partner with Ax or Qx. (Qx– declarer can still guess to block the suit and probably will if he doesnt have the 9.) Drawback: partner has Axx and slow diamond trick. Declarer would then have to be Qx, KJTxxxxx, AJx. – Partner would've bid some number of clubs with Axx, x, Qxxx, 10xxxx so this hand is not possible.
2. Diamond if partner has AJ10 or better to kill entry for pitch. Even AJ9 is not good enough as declarer can play the Q from hand, effectively freezing the diamond suit until he's ready to use the K for an entry for his club pitch. That gives declarer AQ, KJTxxxx, Qxx, x.
3. Trump when declarer has 3-7-3-0 with A9x of spades, and a slow diamond loser. If partner had a preemptive raise available he might've done it with Qx, xx, QTxx, Txxxx? Probably depends on the colors.

Diamond seems implausible, hand #3 seems less likely than the situations where its right to play a spade.
Aug. 28, 2015
Shäné Blänchärd edited this comment Aug. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Quad 4's in back, Quad 2's in the middle, Aces up top. ^
Aug. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
How does the other guy defend a grandslam after his partner bid like this???? Must've been another forcing pass situation for them…
Aug. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As declarer on this hand, I might add that the double, lead and ensuing ruff all happened in about 5 seconds. That includes 3 passes and the time it takes for dummy to hit the table.
Aug. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
edit
Feb. 18, 2015
Shäné Blänchärd edited this comment Feb. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Nic,

I just want to make sure I'm understanding this… You have–in your freetime– provided freeware that solves each issue that the ACBL is trying to address with a $600K budget?

Thanks,
Shane
Feb. 17, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Publish the article with a less “in your face” tone/title IMO. Stay objective and present the facts, nobody can punish or ban you for that. Oh yeah, and don't use the word moron.
Aug. 2, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As NPC of USA1 in Bali, I can say that our final result was disappointing. I did not really care to reflect on the tournament for quite some time after but there is an anecdote from our lone success–winning the round robin– that is so demonstrative of being a “team player.” This forum seems like an appropriate place for this story to be told.

After day 2 of the round robin, the team was in dire straights as we had lost by huge margins to several formidable teams (meaning we would have bad carryover if we even made it to the KO phase), and we also had some disappointing losses to less formidable teams. At dinner that night spirits were as low as they possibly could be with such a young, enthusiastic cast of characters (that is to say only relatively low; There may or may not be video footage of team member John Kranyak dancing on stage to Gangnam Style with a bunch of Balinese locals from this same dinner) and having played poorly to that point, we were to face Italy first thing in the morning. It had been our plan all along that Bobby and Steve would play that match for sure as they were our most experienced and formidable pair and had been playing in top form. I was utterly floored when following that dinner Steve and Bobby took me aside and proceeded to bench themselves. I think Bobby should explain the reasoning and I can say with absolute certainty that this was a pivotal moment for our team that sparked a viscous run through the round robin with our 3 pairs firing on all cylinders from that moment forward.
April 10, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
ummm….many….OJ Simpson, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds. The NFL. Charlie Sheen, Winona Rider, Michael Jackson, Billy Joel. Every Rock star ever. Etc etc. Even within the games for which these people have gained their notoriety, players dont often play by the same rules. Kevin Durant and James Harden enjoy the luxury of having the whistle blown every time they attack the basket while lesser players get mauled with no foul being called. Michael Jordan shoved Brian Russell to rob the Jazz of the NBA championship. Zia's bridge talents are certainly on par with all of the above examples–his crimes much pettier. Right or wrong, this is the way it is. Get over it.
April 9, 2014
Shäné Blänchärd edited this comment April 9, 2014
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Madala told me himself that he took the 4 of diamonds and 5 of clubs and shuffled them together and led the one that ended on top. Bocchi's BIT was because he was thinking about doubling(as we all would) but then (rather swiftly) realized that his partner was never leading a spade on the auction and also didn't have a trump to lead. The fact that Bocchi held so many diamonds made it very likely his partner was leading a club anyway and thus the double could only help his opponents reach 7NT when it was right. WD to Italy, they played like champions and are certainly deserving.
Sept. 29, 2013
1 2 3
.

Bottom Home Top