Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Sharon Fauss
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You may be right Yuan.

There are several inferences that most of you do not seem to acknowledge.
1. East did nothing over the 2c bid. Why?
- he had a club stack
- he had a hand shape that did not suggest an overcall suit
- he had a hand shape that was not supportive of all the unbid suits. Perhaps 3-4-3-3 3-3-4-3 2-4-4-3 or even 2-3-5-3 with a suit headed by a 10. Give partner 3 kings (9 points) and one of these hand shapes and does it make a balancing hand as ugly as mine look decent?


s9862 hJ6 dQT942 cK7

sKxx hKxx dKxx cxxx

Now give North 8 points including one ace. The West contract of 2d warrants to take one club, 4 diamonds, and either one heart or one spade. This example is with 9 HCP and the worst shape hand East could hold. I think it is worth balancing….and I think it is good at being a defensive hand should the N/S players decide to reenter the auction. Turns out that North made the bad bid, skewing all my reasoning, therefore it did not work out for E/W. They got an average instead of capitalizing on N/S misbid and stealing a top board. Such is life.

I admit that my personal knowledge of the opponents influenced my decision. They are both good players that do not psyche nor make egregious bidding errors.

Thank you all for the input. Although I was not the one that thought this hand warranted a discussion in an on line message board, it is always interesting to see what other players would do with the same cards I hold. It would be nice if some of you tried to use a little more tact when telling a player (especially one that was not asking for their opinion on the bidding style) they did something stupid.
Sept. 13, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
hate to think how you guys want to hang your partners out to dry and do not balance…. I give lessons if you are inclined. Leaving a 2 club bid in to play is just suicide in a match point game.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
regardless of your comments,,,the director took overly cautious steps to make sure he did not rule in his own favor for any ulterior motives you might suggest. The ruling was absolutely fair and correct.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
depends on his hand…..
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only other director at the event was me….and we both agreed on the ruling….aka West
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You all are giving me a lot of flack for balancing with my ugly hand, however, if North and South both bid accurately, my partner warrants to have 11-12 points regardless of how ugly and I will balance with my hand 100 out of 100 times. My king of clubs is well placed and my values look to be solid although few.
Sept. 12, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was the west on this hand and I agree with the director's ruling. My comments… First, this was a club game, 2nd, it was a first time, last minute partnership and their agreement was to play standard American, so the 2c bid was interpreted by the south player as 6-9 points and with a minimal hand, passed. West, aka me, is an aggressive balancer so I balanced with a less than perfect hand and the belief that the 2c bid was 6-9 because I know both players well. It is my opinion that even if the bid was acknowledged as inverted, the south hand might have passed because it was limited and the rebid options were not very attractive. Because of this possibility, I asked the director to check the results on this hand after the game to see what the room had done in general and with one exception the hand was played in 3NT making various amounts. Even if the results had been 2C, I would still agree with the directors ruling because South bid appropriately due to her understanding of the agreements. She did not ‘fail to alert’ as their agreement was standard American. North failed to follow their agreements which is his prerogative.
Sept. 12, 2013
.

Bottom Home Top