Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Shawn Drenning
1 2 3 4 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 ... 34 35 36 37
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would be more surprised if there was an athlete in Salazar's group who WASN'T doing this.
July 2, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think cuebids with unexpected meanings are still alertable. When I play 2 over their 1 is natural, I alert it for instance.
June 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It does in every US club I’ve played at recently
June 30, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As opposed to skill at “real” bridge, which has what usefulness in real life?
June 26, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
'Solve' a lot of the problems or just make the game less enjoyable (and probably less successful)?

Personally, I play plenty of ‘real’ bridge and that is not my aim when playing with the bots.
June 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If I were going to take another bid because I thought partner's huddle showed extra strength, I'd probably bid 2nt and let partner raise me to game.
June 21, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lebensohl
June 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Spades
June 20, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My point was that if the rules say E/W should go down, I don't like the rules. I guess it is ambiguous what he believes the rules SHOULD say and perhaps his point is that as written the rules might say E/W should not get credit for 6 making (offering no opinion on what he believe is equitable in some greater sense).

What if S had announced “I have the ace of clubs” out loud and then W went wrong? At some point if S's action is blatant enough it seems to me ‘misguessing’ is not the correct way to characterize W getting the hand wrong.
June 19, 2018
Shawn Drenning edited this comment June 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As someone who plays at nationals, but also plays a lot more at regionals and sectionals, I do in some sense care about the appeals from lower level events and find them interesting to read.
June 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Regardless of what the rules say, I found it curious that Kit Woolsey believed “it is proper to give a split ruling with both pairs getting the worst of it” on R5. I understand you take inferences from opponent's tempo at your own risk, but if S did something that blatantly suggested he had the A when he did not, it does not seem equitable to me that E/W should get a bad result.
June 19, 2018
Shawn Drenning edited this comment June 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had thought that it would be spades too, but had not specifically discussed this sequence. Playing this double as takeout, I would definitely double.

Over 3-p-p-? I guess 3nt is more attractive.
June 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I played a hand at this same club recently where I pulled partners 3nt to my long major (unsuccessfully) and an opponent said to me in apparent seriousness “your partner took so long to bid 3nt you probably didn’t think he had such a good stopper. If he would have bid more confidently you probably would have been able to pass”
June 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems citizens of bridgewinners agree with my postmortem that I overthought this hand. At table I was thinking I have potentially very little defense against 5 so I don’t want to do anything to encourage them to bid that
June 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do doublers play this double as takeout?

As a follow up to poll how would you bid this hand if E passed?
June 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To the 2 bidders you are planning on raising partner’s 2 to 3?
June 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like the sentiment, but it seems like there is an arbitrary line we all have to draw. For instance, if I make a really poor card play that I instantly realize is obviously wrong do I get to try again? What if it is only sort of poor?

So while I would never criticize someone for doing something like this it also makes me uncomfortable when it is praised so highly as there is an implication that those who would not do this are somehow doing something wrong.
June 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What would X be here?
June 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah a UI hand, at the table W tank passed. Just checking I wasn’t completely off base thinking this was egregious. At the table we would have missed last board if I called director so I could not get a ruling
June 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At the table I made a fit jump, but in the post mortem I thought a spade splinter was more descriptive. At the table partner had xxx KJ10xx AKxx x and 3 might have got us to slam. To make matters worse, I bid 4 not 3 and we weren’t on same page and I played it there.

The other table bid 4 with my hand, which I don’t care for
June 16, 2018
1 2 3 4 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 ... 34 35 36 37
.

Bottom Home Top