Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Shireen Mohandes
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As an aside: One unusual advantage of wanting two winners (N/S and E/W) is that you can choose to seat in the East West pool all pairs who have never won a duplicate. One pair will obviously win for their first time.
Nov. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
there is another solution: every time you play them, cough non-stop. Loud.
Nov. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can somebody explain please, what is the role of the EBL in all of this? What I mean is, might it be that the EBL can achieve something, and therefore, have the same result on preventing them from playing?
Nov. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jan, Yu: the WBF / EBL print the unique id on the badge. That would help, wouldn't it? Obviously only for WBF and EBL type events.
Nov. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yu: might ACBL allow use of tablets?
Nov. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I recall that at a EBL event in Ostend a director told me that a world class player had claimed without mentioning drawing trumps (one outstanding). They ruled that he would lose a trick to that trump. They then said: “if we are going to let him lose to a trick, then that applies to the rest of you too - for the whole event”. That was that. Word got round.
Nov. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
re Bridemates … altho I have not used them, I am told by others that BriAn https://www.brianbridge.net/brian/main.html is a bridgemate-like system that just needs smartphones.

That is it - all you need is a smartphone on each table. Maybe that is something that can be explored by clubs/events that cannot finance the cost of the equipment.
Nov. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maybe map to WBF unique identifier? I am currently helping with a minor clean up exercise of that list, on a volunteer basis.
Nov. 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3NT vs 4M
Please will you consider this request:
1. Filter out all goulash events
AND
2 Only include auctions where declaring side bid (ie oppo silent at both tables throughout)

rationale:
Am trying to ignore deals where the oppo have shown/inferred 4 or 5 cards in the M which your side have an 8-card fit.

eg
1NT - (2C* Hearts and another) - 3NT - all pass
where both dummy and declarer have 4 hearts

(1S 4-card majors or canapé) - 1NT - (any) - 3NT - All pass

Thank you.
Nov. 14
Shireen Mohandes edited this comment Nov. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is it possible to filter out the goulash deals and show the main data you've presented?
Nov. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Yeh: Also, it would be nice if there was some unique identifier added to the last name. ”

Every player that has played in a WBF event has a unique identifier. see here
http://www.worldbridge.org/people-finder/

Right now, I am helping with some data clean up (on a volunteer basis). If you do see any errors, please tell me and I can pass on.

I should add, there are some duplicates too, so I will probably help with that later.
Nov. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, I wonder if you can set me straight: in the text here you want to bid, in the poll you want to double. Or have I misunderstood you?
Nov. 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David, I am inviting you to revise your edict:
If declarer had: AKQ AKQ AKQJ XXX in hand opposite xx xx xx AKQ5432.
and says “I have 13 tricks”, I am assuming that neither you nor MR will “make” declarer discard top clubs on the run of the honors in declarer's hand.
Nov. 8
Shireen Mohandes edited this comment Nov. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are right Kit, I did not explain myself well for (Q2).

What I meant was, say the oppo cards are breaking 0=4, and there is an Ace to knock out in this suit, declarer plays one round of this suit, the lead is not lost, RHO has ducked. The trick is quit, but LHO has the suit as “winning”, RHO put it as “losing” (because he ducked it).

1) somebody needs to tell declarer that declarer is on lead (how can he know what is going on if one defender thinks it is won, and the other think it is lost, and nobody is playing to the next trick?)

2) the defender (in my example LHO) is allowed to be told by his partner (RHO) “we lost that trick, you have it the wrong way round”. When this happens, declarer is likely to infer that RHO has the ace.

I know this seems rather exaggerated - but my intention is to provide an example that illustrates the question (Q2)
Nov. 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does anyone think that since we are facing a passed hand, double is better than 2h or 2s?
Nov. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Geoff: just as a matter of clarification.

A) There are silent claims, when nothing at all is said.
B) There are vocal claims, when something (claim of tricks/losers) is stated, but no *line* is mentioned.

Not trying to be pedantic here, but the famous case of the player who was in a grand slam, who was ruled against because of blockage … this was actually not a silent claim, it was a type (B) claim.

Ironically, it probably went against her. Had she been completely silent, prompted, she may have said “why of course, I won't block myself”. But since she said some words, with no reference to the blockage, then she was ruled against.
Nov. 6
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For claims that involve losing a trick (eg, “I knock out the top diamond”, or, “I give you a top diamond and you can take your top trump when you want, but the rest are mine”)

(Q1) When the defender wins the trick, is declarer to know which defender won the trick?

(Q2) As a small side point: sometimes players don't put the trick the correct way (ie on it side, for losing, and upright for winning). However, the individual who won the trick normally DOES put the trick the right way.

Declarer will end up finding out. Are they entitled to this info?
Nov. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't think the rules are “ambiguous”. They do require subjective decisions (or if you prefer “good judgement”).
Nov. 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Gavin - if you decide to split the collection, and if it happens to include a “British” section (or an “old books”) section, please will you get in touch with me? I (along with a handful of British players) maintain mini collections / archives, and it may be that what looks like an unimportant book is actually an attractive book to a person who is very keen on history, older books (including pre WW2), etc. I am not talking about the “worth of the book”, rather, the scarcity. There are many scarce books that are sold for $1.
Nov. 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
write to : Gordon Bickley
Card Game Books
Stockport
07530 553594
Gordon Bickley <gordonarf@aol.com>;

he is a dealer, he does buy from USA, he's like to know good channels. He's a very nice person.
Nov. 2
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14
.

Bottom Home Top