Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Simon Mostyn
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
David Gold recently wrote an article in English Bridge recommending 1NT as 11-16 after 1 any - pass - pass. Advancer’s 2 acts as a shape and range enquiry. After which, the rebids are as follows:-

2 = any 11-12, no 4-card major;
2M = 11-12, natural;
2NT = any 13-14 (now 3 = a shape enquiry);
3 any = natural, 15-16

I have now adopted this treatment with a couple of partners.
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I’m not going to comment on the specific allegations against Mr Horton, but on the subject of plagiarism and on a lighter note, I’ve just come across the following:-

“To an aspiring author who had hoped for praise, Dr. Johnson wrote: ‘Your manuscript is both good and original; but the part that is good is not original, and the part that is original is not good’.

(quoted in “The Book of Snubs” edited by Gyles Brandreth, Robert Hale Limited, 1994)
Aug. 16
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted for 5. Let’s give the oppo the last guess.
July 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Frances, this seems a good agreement, but how do you modify it after (2) - pass - (2M)? Passing with a big 2-suiter with diamonds and a major is less attractive now given the risk that 2M ends the auction.
July 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Indeed! Now corrected.
July 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What is the time interval between the European Championships just concluded and the Bermuda Bowl? A good performance by a given pair in the former should certainly be strongly taken into account in determining selection for the latter.

However, the longer the gap between the 2 events, the more discretion the selectors should have. They will need to factor in current form and the possibility of a pair which were not involved in the Europeans having a stellar 12 months. To use a football (soccer) analogy, not all those who played for England in the World Cup qualification games have made the final “cut”, i.e. the squad for the actual World Cup. Of course there is also the potential for partnership splits.
June 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with the above comments. With a stronger 5-5 shape, opener may bid fourth suit forcing (3 in this case).
April 15
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For the record, partner’s hand was JT9862 KT962 D Q C 6 and South’s hand was AK7543 J JT85 J5
Jan. 1
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My thought process at the table was that with a void it was quite likely that LHO would raise. I thought I would be better placed after p - (2) - 3- (3! / 4) - p - p (when I can describe my extra values and approximate shape nicely with a double) than after 2 - x - 3 - p - p. In the 2nd sequence, I am more or less commmitted to following through with 4C which doesn’t get across my suitability for other strains.

Of course, once dummy hit, I wished that I had doubled! Surprisingly, we gained 5 IMPs on the board as teammates managed to take 3C 2 off.
Dec. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I let North change their bid unless I am certain that North would not allow me to change my call had the situation been reversed.
Nov. 20, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Brett, if you don’t open a strong NT with Andy’s hand, assuming natural rebids, you have created a difficult (some would say impossible) rebid problem for yourself after 1 - 1M. Nor do you have a clear-cut rebid after 1 - 2.
Nov. 12, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Andy,

I have an agreement with at least one partner that 4NT in your 1st sequence should be natural. On the basis that a forcing 3 is available with 3-card spade support and that if responder wishes to set diamonds as trumps, responder bids 4.

I haven’t any firm partnership agreements about the 2nd sequence so absent prior discussion would assume 4N to be RKCB. I suppose to a large extent it depends on whether 4 by advancer agrees spades as trumps or is simply a “choice of games” cue bid.
Oct. 31, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry I should have been clearer and have now edited the article. In the version of Bergen which I play, major suit raises become progressively from 2NT (GF/ Jacoby). So 3 is the limit raise and 3 is the mixed raise in each case with 4+ card trump support. 1- 2 and 1 - 3 are 3-card limit raises.
Sept. 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For me, the 2 rebid already confirmed 6 hearts in opener's hand, but that's a question of style of course. Depends on whether opener's reverses (e.g. 1 - 2 - 2 ) show extras - I now play that they don't and 2NT is the default rebid so repeating the major guarantees a 6-carder (at least).
Aug. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Very enjoyable discussion, thanks both!
Aug. 25, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, I would definitely rebid 3 with your example hand - 5 positive controls and the Q of trumps must be too good for fast arrival even with a “minimum”.
Aug. 25, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Maximum passed hand with 4-card support and some shape. Flat 4-card raises use Drury.
April 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Jeff,

Hi I remember watching you at the (now sadly defunct) Macallan invitational pairs in London around the turn of the century. If my memory is correct, you were partnering Tony Forrester and playing against Paul Chemla and the late Omar Sharif.

I have a question concerning the serious 3NT. As this convention has only appeared on my radar recently, I would be grateful for some recommended ground rules as to when it should (and should not) apply within a 2-over-1 system base.

Many thanks!
March 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This would be an even tougher problem at unfavourable. At least they are going down in 100s. 2N is possible. If I double, one of two bad things is likely to happen - (I) partner bids clubs; or (2) oppo find their club fit.
March 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sorry Jeff, I am new to Bridge Winners (at least as a contributor) so I was blissfully unaware that these existed!
March 2, 2017
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top