Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Steve Chen
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And with no good suit yet not really balanced (in bridge terminology this is defined as takeout shape) partner bids… what?
Aug. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One hand double for penalty, the other hand double for takeout. This means when opener has a penalty hand, you have two chances to get it (opener can double, or you can later make a takeout double in case opener forgot to double earlier). When you have a penalty hand, there is zero way to get it (opener cannot double since it is penalty, you cannot double since that would be takeout). Hmm makes perfect sense…
Aug. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
BBO likely doesn't have that rank available (not that they cannot). Otherwise there won't be any need for self-ranking.
Aug. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I read “East's explanation was incorrect” as saying that their agreement was X of 2 showed clubs but East explained wrong. If that's the case then clearly there was MI.
Aug. 25, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
So partner's double is penalty, but my double would be takeout? Makes no sense.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Did the director explain why he allowed 3 bid to stand, in light of BIT?

The director may get this one wrong, but I wouldn't quickly equate it with lack of integrity, before even attempting to find the reasons.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Who is ‘ACBL’? If the law supports it, what prevents TD from enforcing the law?
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If they have identical cards which show they have a specific meaning for a bid, yet they claim they don't have that agreement, that almost warrants a procedural penalty – after all, what is convention card for?
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well, if partner knows you will likely lead passively in this case, then partner may be able to. It's like cause and effect. This is not to say that I agree with passive lead here, just that your tendency will also shape partner's thinking to some extent.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Details, details… in that case an equivalent of ACBL yellow card… I think it might be called EBU Simple System (not sure about the abbreviation though)?
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Basically this pair played the game without properly filling a convention card. Director should be summoned to take it from there.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You should call the director, then explain the situation away from the table.

By the way, the rule says both partner and you MUST have two IDENTICAL convention cards which reflect what you actually play. When that is not satisfied, (I think, but not sure) you can only use a standard yellow card. Many times this rule is not enforced, but when it may matter (like in this case) it may be held against you.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
On opening bid, or what to bid after 2 P P 3?
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think OP knows the right answer, she probably just need this poll to convince her partner. :)
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Partner's 2 is strong GF”

But, as long as pass is forcing, it shouldn't affect.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bidding 3 may work in practice, but if that is the case it just shows that you shouldn't have opened 2.

Plenty of bad bids work out occasionally, so what?
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But how can hold-up help? Declarer has plenty of entries to dummy if he needs to.

Ducking 9 can easily cost a trick even if declarer has club stopped. Give declarer same hand with A but not K, for example.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“Declarer won in hand and played Low Diamond from Hand which was ducked by all. E played 8”

So order of diamond play is: 9 from North, 8 from East, small from dummy, West is the last to play. West knows East doesn't have singleton K.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am against the crowd here. Why cannot/should-not partner's double be take-out? What should partner do with 4-4-1-4 hand?

Since partner's pass is forcing, with diamond stack he can pass, then South can make a take-out double which will be converted.
Aug. 24, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think West's duck is 100% wrong (0% defense line, I cannot think of a single case where ducking can gain).

I think club lead (C10) is percentage action, but you can construct hands where 7 is the only lead that beats the contract (just give partner A and Jxx). So clearly 7 is not 0% defense, but probably still very much against the odds.

So I don't know which option to choose. Technically it should be “mostly W”, but this option loses the important indication that East made a bad lead, just not as bad as West's play.
Aug. 24, 2018
.

Bottom Home Top