Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Steve Myerson
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 46 47 48 49
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4N. Just make sure we're not off 2 cashing aces.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why would I want to force to 3S on a possible 7 card fit?
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've heard of bypassing a 5 card diamond suit to bid a 4 card major, but I've never heard of bypassing a 6 card diamond suit to bid 1N. Even the janitor knows not to bid 1N initially.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In a strong matchpoint field

The problem states IMPs.

If this was MPs, I'd gladly take 68% on every board.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't open balanced 11 counts in 4th seat.
Feb. 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think Eric is correct and West is giving East a choice between red suit slams.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I can't believe that East holds this hand with all this bidding going on. I think this is the South hand.
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why did I rebid a 5 card heart suit when I have excellent 3 card diamond support plus a ruffing value?
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I like to play that opener cannot pass short of game. Responder, detecting a misfit, can pass 4m.
Feb. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you thought it was worth 2.75 clubs, then you truncated. :)
Feb. 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's worth 2.75 clubs, so I rounded up.
Feb. 11
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The votes are in and my action (Pass) was not a favorite.

My reasoning for pass that 3 doubled making 3 was -730, a better result than down 3 or 4 doubled for -800 or -1100. My partner's comment, similar to Kieran's above, was that they haven't doubled 4 yet.

Dummy hit with (sorry, no hand records and I don't remember all the spots) Tx ATxx KQxx, Kxx. That's right! North did not open that hand. When questioned, North said they don't open balanced 12 counts vulnerable in first or second seat.

On defense we are always getting a spade, heart and a diamond. There are additional potential losers in both hearts and spades, depending on how declarer plays the suits. Declarer at our table guessed hearts correctly but misplayed spades, thus making 9 tricks. I had hoped that maybe the result at the other table would be 4 making, thus limiting our losses.

At the other table, our teammates bid a more normal 1 - 1; 2 - 4. Declarer played a heart to the ace thus losing 2 hearts, got the spade suit right, and ended up down 1. The IMPs lost on this board were the difference between winning and losing this match.

With better than 90% of the BW voters preferring to bid, I guess that I should have bid and maybe the opponents wouldn't double. I didn't really expect to beat 3, so in essence I was conceding -730 (or more) rather than taking a chance on improving our score (down, but not doubled).

Both 3 and 4 go for at least -800.
Feb. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Whatever bid shows a 4 card limit raise.
Feb. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Some people play suit preference if dummy has a singleton in the suit led. Is your agreement different?
Feb. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
4NT is the worst bid I've seen today (but it's still morning).

It's going to take a really bad bid to top 4N as worst bid. While 4 was optimistic, once East shows a doubleton spade and denies the K, West should be hoping that 4 makes, let alone looking for a slam.
Feb. 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Double dummy, East can cash the AK after drawing trumps and then lead the spade. That's not what happened according to the OP.
Feb. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
We've passed previously

That does make the problem easier. It would have been more difficult had East been the dealer.
Feb. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Having a void in partner's suit is rarely “useful”.
Feb. 9
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2N. Ten fourth isn't the greatest stopper, but there was no club raise by East and no club rebid by West, so maybe the clubs are distributed somewhat evenly around the table. If partner has an opening hand, East probably won't be getting in too often and my hearts are decent if West leads them.
Feb. 8
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3 is right on values, but it violates one of my rules. If you don't know where you're going, there's no hurry to get there.
Feb. 6
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 46 47 48 49
.

Bottom Home Top