Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Stu Goodgold
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After the 2C overcall, meant as artifical and strong, any correction bars partner for the rest of the auction (unless they have a very strange agreement that 5C is also artifical and forcing!).

And there are lead restriction if the Non offending side gets the contract, as Jeff Ford has pointed out.
Oct. 2, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Took more than a few seconds to figure out 1C natch is not a convention (considerably less time to determine 2C Mike is Michaels and not Lawrence). Think you could use standard terms so we don't have to figure out what you mean?
Sept. 22, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My choice is modified step controls:

2D = < 5 HCP 0-1 ctls, forcing only to 2N
2H = > 4 HCP 0-1 ctls
2S = 2 ctls
2N = 3 ctls
3C = 4 ctls
3D = 5+ ctls

If they interfer, then D0P1, R0P1 (Dbl/Rdbl = 2D resp, Pass = 2H resp, next bid = 2S etc., truncated at 3D).

2C openers knows from responders bid if game is in jeopardy, and if slam is or is not a possibility. So it is easy to know where you should stop and where you should ask more from partner.
I don't care for the response differentiating between AK and 3K.
Opener can usually figure out which one responder has simply by looking at his hand. And with 3 ctls opposite a strong 2C opener, this is not so much worry about right-siding the contract.
Sept. 15, 2012
Stu Goodgold edited this comment Sept. 15, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why are you making a poll of this question? That's like taking a poll to determine the cube root of 237. Assuming you are playing under ACBL rules, yes it is alertable if it is not a natural bid (showing a suit of 3 or more cards). Moreover, if it is at the 4 level or higher, it is a delayed alert. But why take my word for it, check it out with the ACBL authorities.
Sept. 14, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Does it really matter how and when this convention got its start?

Why do you want to confuse the opponents when they ask a question?Most people would expect a Sandwich NT, by an unpassed hand after (1x) P (1y), to mean I have the other 2 suits, usually with less than doubling values and more distributional than a takeout dbl.

2N is not alertable if unusual for the other 2 suits. 1N Sandwich (by an unpassed hand) is alertable when showing 2 suits.
So during the bidding the opps should not need to ask unless there was an alert. But if they ask before the bidding begins, your response is just confusing. A simple “No” would suffice.
Sept. 12, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This auction seems to call for the very common lead of a trump. Given West didn't lead a diamond, that would imply he is void (as he turns out to be). That would mean he has length in the majors and clubs for with 2 or fewer clubs, he might show his 11+ cards in the majors even given the vunerability. This makes the club finesse more than 50%.
Sept. 5, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The 1H bid was not a psych but a mistake, according to your description. So it is legal. Convincing the TD may prove problematic though.
Aug. 30, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is quite rare to see diamond LMs playing ‘stolen bid’ agreements. And since they are playing Lebensohl, it would be reasonable for responder to bid 2N as a means to getting to 3C. We have established they had no specific agreement on 2S; even so, I would expect the expert opinion here would be stopper showing. West should have stated ‘undiscussed’ or ‘no agreement for this sequence’ and then added something along the lines: ‘but in general, when you have shown 2 suits, we agree to show stoppers’.
Aug. 29, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2S is not alertable in the ACBL (but we are not told where this was played). That is because it is an “implied” cue bid, ie. a bid in a suit the opponents have shown they hold. Cue bids are considered to be self-alerting. In your 1D-2D (Michaels) example, 2H showing limit+ in clubs is not alertable, just like 2D is not alertable.

As for 2S, we are not told what the EW actual agreement is. Was the agreement stopper showing in spades, or a xfer to clubs? Yes, West meant it as a xfer, but that may not be their agreement, and it wouldn't be the first time someone misbid.

In either case, it is up to NS to ask about 2S, alerted or not. They are only entitled to the EW actual agreement.
Aug. 29, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kyle was always greeting everyone with a smile and never dismissed the lesser players he faced. He will be greatly missed. My condolences to Gillian, who was always around to kibbitz and provide support.

My experience with Kyle and Rose was at all levels, from nationals to club games. The most memorable was a special club game honoring Kyle and the rest of Rose's team for winning the Bermuda Bowl. It was a strong field to say the least. I showed up just in case a last minute partner was needed. It happened that there was a half table and I was pressed into service. But it would be quite a few minutes before my partner would arrive, so Gillian bravely filled in for two rounds. Gillian rarely played any bridge, but she hung in there and we survived those 4 boards. In the end, Rose and Kyle were second N/S; Gillian, my substitute partner and I came in first. Surely that was the only time Kyle was outdone at the table by Gillian.
Aug. 26, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's legality depends on where you play. The ACBL GCC states:
A no trump opening or overcall is natural if, by agreement, it is balanced (generally, no singleton or void and no more than two doubletons).

Under the GCC you cannot have an agreement, explicit or implicit, to regularly open the hands you described with 1N. But occasional usage is allowed - note the word ‘generally’.

Most good players would open your 1st hand 1N, and that is permitted under GCC, since it is not a common occurrence. I doubt the other two hands would qualify. There are 2 unstopped majors in the 2nd, and an easy 2H rebid in the 3rd, so why would you confuse your partner with an offshape 1N (unless you had an illegal agreement).

However, if you are playing Mid-chart you are allowed to open 1N on all these hands by agreement.
Aug. 19, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many have the agreement that the lead of an A against NT asks for an unblock of an honor (or give count if no honor). Obviously, that could be a problem leading A from AKx. Do you recommend dropping this agreement?

Secondly, most of your discussion is for IMP scoring. How much does this change for matchpts?
Aug. 16, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Since you are playing Jacoby transfers, I'll assume 2S is MSS.
If opener shows a 4+ minor, then use RKCB (or straight Blackwood would also work here). 7D or 7C is biddable if opener has the right Ks. If no big minor fit and/or short a minor K, then 6N.
Aug. 14, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This new format certainly appears to be popular; it has generated an explosion of new bidding polls. Not sure that is good though.
Aug. 13, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There is no reason to expect you are making 5S or 5D on this hand. Pass and take your expected plus score.
Aug. 13, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The opps surely have a heart fit, and West has a big hand (assuming West is a competent player). It is unlikely we have game. 2C doesn't do much to interfer with them getting to 2H, but 2S certain does.

As for 2N, it should be a natural game try. Certain rational, but not recommended with just HKx.
Aug. 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This one is close. A lot depends on the strength of the field.
A weaker field would mostly pass. Not so obvious with a stronger field, where players might be angling for a swing.
Aug. 10, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As others have pointed out, staring is against Law 74C5, which is one of the propriety laws. That said, sometimes you have to look briefly at an opponent to find out if their mind is in the game or they are unaware it's their turn to bid or play.
Aug. 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This is a great article and one that is more useful than many whole textbooks. However, staring and studying your opponents
is not in accordance with the laws of bridge.

There is Law 74C5: “looking intently at any other player during the auction and play ….” which is categorized as a violation of procedure.

Years ago a declarer on my left went into the tank for over a minute. I had already played but didn't want to give any tells, so I stared at a point a few tables behind her. She called the TD, saying I was staring at her and it was disturbing. The TD settled everyone down and play continued …. eventually.
That is the only instance of a call on 74C5 I have ever encountered.
Aug. 1, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Like most others I agree 3N at IMPs. At matchpts, I would normally bid 3N with most partners. If your partner is not extreme and bids with the field, then the field will most likely be in 3N. If so, you can't afford to stop in 2N.
July 31, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top