Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Sven Pride
1 2 3 4 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 ... 52 53 54 55
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm with Dean. It's not just the 5th club. It's all Ace and King points.
Jan. 31, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Alan - The odds are that bad against any particular hand from occurring.
Jan. 26, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had missed the passed hand nature of my pd's 2N bid. In an unlimited context, I think I would try 4H
Jan. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Aviv - try and make 4H :)
Jan. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I understand the gist of the “falling in the cracks” question. Unfortunately, you'll need to choose a hand that doesn't contain, 12 points, 2 aces, a seven card suit and a singleton… :)
Maybe something more like
Kxxxxx AQx x xxx
Jan. 22, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Tom - I agree with you conceptually, but usually with my pd's, bidding 6D over 6C wouldn't be showing the King - it would be asking for the King to continue towards grand.
Jan. 21, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Wrong vulnerability to not be in the making vul game :) K9 of diamonds might be enough.
Jan. 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yuan - it's a good hand and I'm still thinking it over. But, the primary reason to win in hand and lead a heart up instead of towards the heart to your hand is any hand with the Q in West wins and can put a diamond through leading to 2 heart losers, 2 diamond losers and the AC while you have only six tricks established…
Jan. 20, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the auction was ok until 5N. 5D instead allows pd to cue bid the KS on the way if (s)he has it. I also will settle for 6 without the QH or a fifth piece…
Jan. 19, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It's hard to get pd to cue bid diamonds over 4H.
Jan. 17, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit Woolsey's column. Comprehensive hand analyses from start to finish with choose-your-own-adventure style questions from page to page.
Any time experts go over not only what they did, but _why_ they did it.
Jan. 17, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There's multiple definitions of constructive depending on context
A constructive raise is defined as 8-10 points (between a preemptive raise and a limit raise)

In the quoted context, I would consider any bid preemptive or obfuscating to be non-constructive. (I would consider your 2D-either major call to be non-constructive)

The xfer-bid is clearly allowed in the mid-chart under Rule 4: Any call that promises four or more cards in a known suit
Jan. 3, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you're playing precision and passing these hands, you do not “have” your bids. You are passing hands you should be opening. Look at it this way a traditional 1S opener has anywhere between 12-20 HCP. A precision 1S opener has between (9)10-15 HCP. The range is smaller even when you open these poor suit-quality piece-of-garbage 11 counts. There's a lot of vigorish being first into the auction which includes a fair bit of preemptive value.

I guess I'm asking, why would you play a light-opening system like Precision, if you aren't going to open lightly?

(And if you're wondering about 9 counts, KQT98 AT98x xx x - I'd open 1S in a flash)
Jan. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Josh- What else would pd's 2H be? Do you thing the 2D bidder isn't cue-bidding support for his pd's 1H overcal? Is it possibly requesting a heart stopper for 3N? (And if so, if you have a penalty pass of hearts, shouldn't you be bidding NT?
Jan. 2, 2013
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, Yes, Penalty.
Dec. 30, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Philip describes exactly what I think this bid means.
Dec. 27, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Hard call. I want to be in game, but I am unsure of strain. 3H might get passed while we're cold for 6C. I don't like doubling, but I'd really like to get to the right strain, and my heart suit doesn't feel… substantial enough to unilaterally bid 4H. Although, if it comes back to me in 3S, I probably will.
Dec. 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think it's a much tougher lead if your majors are reversed.
Dec. 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Single dummy, I was leading a heart against either contract, because it won't give anything away. Right now, I'm trying to work out why I don't get squeezed with two heart leads when I'm in 6N

Declarer has 2 Clubs, 2 Diamonds, 3 hearts and 3 spades.(ten tricks) On the third club, I am squeezed into giving up 11. The opps have

KJxx…..Axx
-……..Kx
Jxx……AKx
x……..-

And I have to pitch from

Qxxx
T9
Qxx

If I pitch a heart, I get squeezed again on the KH (dummy pitched a club) for trick 12.
If I pitch a diamond. Declarer runs 3 diamonds and I'm squeezed again. (Declarer still has the AS to get back to hand - what am I pitching on the third diamond?)
But if I pitch a spade, declarer gets a fourth spade trick, but on the fourth spade trick, declarer has to pitch before I do, and doesn't have the entries to untangle all of the tricks.

A diamond or a spade lead immediately give up a trick - no progressive required.
If I lead a club, I am dead because the hand sets up as such:

KJxx…..A98
A……..Kxx
Jxx……AKx
x……..-

Qxxx
T9x
Qxx

Heart pitch (heart to ace, diamond to ace, K heart - resqueeze)
Diamond pitch (3 diamonds, AH, KH - resqueeze)
Spade pitch ( 4 spades, D to Ace leaving this:

-…..-
A…..Kxx
Jx….A
x


Criss cross squeeze - what four cards do I keep from:

-
T9
Qx
-

In short, you need to remove dummy's AH to kill the crisscross squeeze.

(Fun Hand)
Dec. 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you mean dummy, not declarer. All we know about declarer's hand is that (s)he has 4 spades…
Dec. 21, 2012
1 2 3 4 ... 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 ... 52 53 54 55
.

Bottom Home Top