Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Sven Pride
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The guilty are rarely caught based on one deal. There needs to be a paper trail of recorder forms or such. Occasionally there is an advanced player set to watch surreptitiously over a period of time in order to gather evidence for a Conduct and Ethics committee.
Nov. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yeah - I would have bid 1N (natural) over 1S P P X 1S ? (You're darn right I accept the bid :)
Nov. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Possible answer

“You showed me your hand after trick six”
Nov. 5, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
a consensus. I doubt it. I think you need to have an agreement like Henry's or something else to discuss what to do in these scenarios.
Nov. 3, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
2H - Inv w/5H
Oct. 30, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Pd is unpassed. RHO is passed. Why am I preempting?
Oct. 27, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doesn't that look like practically a 5-card spade suit? J987xx?
Oct. 26, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My pd would like to add “Playing with the wrong partner”
Oct. 25, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bids in order of badness :)
5H, 4H, 3H
Worst first
Oct. 18, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The blue card puts a _lot_ more pressure on opponents.
Oct. 17, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think you should make it on a double squeeze.

North comes down to

D AKx

South down to

Q
x
x

Neither E nor west can hold diamond

I believe a D lead breaks up the squeeze

Switch a club spot in your hand for a diamond spot in dummy and it is cold.
Oct. 12, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Also enough space for EW to explain their hands :)
4D is a pretty accurate summary of your hand.
Oct. 12, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
OMG That is the best rule ever and would have saved me from so many disasters.
Oct. 11, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the shift should be found. pd needs the KH or the KC to beat it and is more likely to have the KH b/c of the lack of the negative double puts 5H in his/her hand.
Oct. 10, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Without specific agreement, 4C would show clubs. Unfortunately, it would also bypass 3N.
Oct. 10, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I guess I'm confused here too. What do your pd's balance on over 2S P P white on red? Would they pass out x Kxxx Kxxx QJxx?
Oct. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Phil - On the last hand, I agree that I wouldn't have passed over 2H and that 2S is the right call. But the sum of the auction doesn't show me a penalty double of 3H is on the table. Over 1D-2C, the call was 2D. Can you have spade tolerance (2S was passed) and a heart stack and not make a negative double over 1D-2C? I can see the double of 3H as a co-operative double with convertable values. But doesn't 1D-2C-2D deny a limit raise too.

I guess what I'm saying is the sum of the auction doesn't make sense to me.
Oct. 6, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Adam - You have a great voice for radio btw.
Oct. 4, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Anant -

On the first hand, you're under the 1S bidder, so you're really only guaranteed one trick in the suit. The rest of your hand is very quacky. You're not guaranteed to take a trick outside of spades. Double is a hyper aggressive action that I wouldn't even take at MP's.

On the second hand, your pd is just balancing. (S)he's already used a lot of the values in your hand. A rule of thumb I learned was to subtract 3 points from my hand when responding to my pd's balances. And your hand is soft to begin with. Consider that LHO hasn't really denied values in this auction.

On the last hand, pd at least opened the bidding - I don't know what your style is, but you likely have half the deck. Doubling here isn't the end of the auction, it pulls pd into it. The other calls were definitively penalties which you didn't really have. I'm not saying that I would have doubled on hand 3. I hate to suggest defense when I have a known double-fit. But it was at least under consideration

Oh, and defense is hard.
Oct. 4, 2012
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would have bid Stayman originally. Our most likely game is 4S, and Stayman is a convenient gadget to ask about spade support. I wouldn't play 2N as Lebensohl. Lebensohl to me suggests a balance in 3m, and with that hand I can bid direct over 2C without letting the opps exchange info. No need to let North know that South's suit is hearts. I would take 2N as minors in this auction.

Passing originally feels like a lack of faith in your agreements over 1N.
Oct. 4, 2012
.

Bottom Home Top