Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Szabolcs Udvari
1 2
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for this comment, you spoke from my heart.
May 18
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Michael, true the things you say may be, but on the hand opps had a combined 29 count with just one 5-card suit!! between the two hands. Thinking we “had them” in any way and expecting a significant swing on the board would not have crossed anyones mind. They did bloody well to reach 6H after (2S)P(3D)3H… So in the situation I genuinely could not imagine anyone searching for hidden meanings to my words to my partner. And contrary to what the opponent said, I did tell the score to partner on all other boards which were not easy to predict.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Judge it yourself. Afterwards, in a lengthy phone conversation that lead nowhere, screenmate kept repeating that we were very lucky throughout, we did nothing to win by 30 IMPs (score was exactly +20) and that I never commented on any of the previous 7 boards, so why did I comment on the one we were “unlucky” on. In fact, (now I remember) I actually told partner the score on 2 of the other 5 boards (our score was the first entry for the first 2 boards, so I disqualified those)and thought of saying 0 on a board I was expecting +1 or +2, but did not feel this was significant enough to worth a mention.
We also played a very sound game, not one of our decisions were in any way lucky. We gained on two boards, the 6D where they had AJ964 opposite K85 and got a ruff and discard at trick 2. 5-0 trumps was obviously nasty, but making slam was hardly a certainty. On the other, they made one unsuccessful decision in the bidding and one in defence.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I still maintain that telling the score to partner is not classified as a remark. To my belief, I did not make any remark on the board. I also always want to know the score on hard-to-predict boards, whenever they are available, so I guess I'm slow to understand why would anyone not want to know where he stands.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes I would have presumed they were not dissatisfied with the scorecard. Apparently they took it as “pff, arent they lucky, they gained 2 IMPs for missing a cold grand.” However I merely uttered out the score to partner using three short words and made absolutely no comment on it. They claim I should have waited until they leave the table! As I said,I'm still flabbergasted of the turn of events.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I honestly beleive that I couldn't have relayed the result of the board to pard in any fewer words. Okay, maybe “-2” in Hungarian is 10 letters compared to the 12 I beleive I used.
May 17
Szabolcs Udvari edited this comment May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Well we were on very good terms with my screenmate. At the start of the match he gave me an enormous high five and there were no incidents at all during the game either. To me his reaction came totally out of nowhere.
I was also aware that they werent expecting to lose the match (moderately) heavily, so I payed attention to not being offensive throughout the match. I'm totally disfunctional in hostile environment, so I avoid conflicts at all costs. Stating that +/-200s were all the scores on the other hand was in part meant as a gesture.
The opp implied that I was saying something of the sorts of “shit, we are losing on the board” which was definitely untrue. “3-1 to them” in a matter-of fact tone was all that was said.
May 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lovely story. The tale of the spade jack in “Right through the pack” is also of deception. This one's better!
April 3
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
BTW I (partner) was a passed hand, in that context 5H would have been quite an underbid.
Incidentally my screenmate did not like me questioning him about the meaning of 4N (first made the joke of spade exlusion with heart fit), but eventually he did say his partner has minors, so I duly bid 5D.
Dec. 16, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Something on this line happened just today. 4-card ending, led C10 to AQJx (originally 5-3). Sitting in front there had been an encouraging C2 discard, behind the 7 and 6 had been thrown. 8 tricks home in 3NT. Its 3 IMPs, I said and finessed. I didn't think there was a 20% chance of it losing. 490.
May 3, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm sure the OP was written by Piekarek/Smirnoff.
All these denials and totally annoying bullshit that have been posted around recently serve only to make us really appreciate the one pair that did own up.
Nov. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Oh yeah, there was an entry to diamonds
Oct. 25, 2015
Szabolcs Udvari edited this comment Oct. 25, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
An international partner of mine has done this recently: opened 1N with 5D4H and 2 doubleton clubs. I nearly passed, but gave it a junk Stayman. He bid 2H, I passed and this was reopened with 2S. This suit struck him as unfamiliar and my pard finally realised his mistake, bid 4H. I think the score was 450 at every single table. Another boring par.
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
1C-1N-3N-6N. The minor holdings were AKJxx/xx worth 5 tricks and AKJxxx/x worth 6. They had an ace in one, KQ the other major. Cost us winning the event.
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I probably hold the record for the lowest winning in bridge. Playing in my grandfather's not too high stake house game I finished on +1 one day. My winning was slightly less than one thousandth of a dollar.
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
All my youth I played Acol. After moving country I discovered 1NT was forcing in Standard after the first time I passed it.
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just when I started to play the story was circulating fresh: One table 6SX +1660. At the other table declarer kept cue-ing his stiff CA and refused to accept that partner was lost, so redoubled 7C! When that was passed out, the player holding KQJxxxx trumps led out of turn! Declarer just claimed the trump ace for -12 and -7000 for an 8660 swing.
Oct. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Playing 1C to show at least a doubleton, I contemplated opening a vulnerable 2N with a good looking 19 count 4432, but eventually settled for 1C, which ended the final contract. In the two card ending I had Kx of clubs with AQ sitting over. If the defence were card perfect they should have been able to lead through my K, but they ended up in the wrong hand so I scored my trump K, slightly ruining the story as I went just 5 down… 6 down in a 19-count 1C contract would have been pretty hard to beat. (No brutal distribution either, pard had identical shape, and both majors were 4-1.)
Oct. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At school level, in one of the most mis-matched partnerships in the history of bridge one of the players was strictly forbidden to declare. For this, rule #1 was never ever ever bid notrumps. In 90 boards he ended up declarer in just 2 occasions. One of those was the consequence of breaking rule #1. He had 22 count and could simply not describe this by anything but 2NT. His partner (who since has collected an European Championship silver) held xxxx-T9xx-xx-Jxx. He bid 3S. However rule #1 was broken again as our hero bid 3NT. 4H. 4NT. At this stage our silver medalist called it a day, embarrassingly ignoring his 3-card suit. So against 4NT, the lead is the club A (from Ax). After careful thought (maybe discouraging signal) the leader switchet to his AJT to eight diamonds, on which declarer …. drumroll… showed out!
They somehow failed to block the suit, so 4NT drifted 6 down, with 6 Clubs cold, as declarer had: AKJ-AKQx-Void-KQTxxx. (At the other table I held xx-x-AJTxxxxx-Ax and I think I opened 4D and sold out to 5C)

So the guy has only bid NT on one hand probably his whole life, but he did it three times on that hand, while holding a void in just about the only suit his partner hasn't bid!
Btw we did win the national schools championship, so this dude is a national champ :-)

Another true story from the very same event, I was playing in a similarly lop-sided partnership. No bidding boxes yet. I overcalled 1S, then I overcalled 2D, then I competed again with 3D. That got doubled. Partner, who never mustered a bid, not even a correction to spades at any stage, tabled Kxx in both my suits. It was an easy make. 4DX-1 claimed opponents (our main rivals for the title). Board was scratched by the TD!
Oct. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Its only a second hand story, I don't really know the details, but in the age of forcing pass someone passed and alerted as 16+. Next hand doubled and he was adamant that if opener showed values, he can double. I gather the argument with the TD went on for ages.
Oct. 21, 2015
1 2
.

Bottom Home Top