Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Thomas Berg
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 26 27 28
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If pip is too important you lead 4`th. :)
Feb. 14
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Any way - this is the way I have bid with my partners since 1974. We all grew up with Acol and a little Standard American. :)

With your example I bid 3S.

IMO the most important in a situation like this is to find out the quality of the heart suit.
Nov. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Asking for quality of heart suit. Better than expected or not? :)

If I am looking for slam missing a spade control I cuebid 5C.

And if I have a strong hand with clubs or diamonds I do not double but bid game in the suit.
Nov. 22, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only lead to give declarer a problem is 5 or 6. Then he must guess correct later to take 10 tricks.
Oct. 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Damo Noir

So it is only a hypothesis. :)
Oct. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Damo Nair

Did they (Belladonna - Avarelli) or did they not change their system from 1959 to 1966?
Oct. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partners hand was:

AK8
K9
AK1072
AQ5

http://www.pzbs.pl/wyniki/liga/liga2018-19/ekstraklasa/rr1b-3.html

Table number 2 open room.
Oct. 18, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It is the only option when partner has denied a club control!
Oct. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Actually partner had only 23p.

The slow pass can only show less than promised but having a club control. What else? :)
Oct. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Tomasz Radko

Please read my comment further up this thread. :)
Oct. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“USING THE METHODS OF THE PARTNERSHIP”.

Exactly - but this seems to be forgotten in asking peers. 4D denied club control. So only way to stop in 4S seems to be a fast 4S in this pairs methods.
Oct. 17, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A quick 4S seems to be only sign off!
Oct. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Chris Gibson

The TD made it a LA question. IMO it is an UI question cause you know for 100% sure partner has a club control.

In most LA questions you do not know for sure why partner was huddling. But in this case you know.

That`s why I made the poll this way. And I think the voters can abstract.:)

But in a way I agree with you. :)
Oct. 16, 2018
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
According to the voting until now PASS is a clear LA. :)
Oct. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner had less than 24p. He had 23p BUT he had club control. Only way to show this is to pause for more than a minut and then bid 4S!

And a quick 4S denies club control.

Bidding can be so much more than just sophisticated! ;( ;(
Oct. 16, 2018
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But according to TD in the real case 6S was ok and legal and pass NOT a LA! He even asked some peers to confirm this.

So why back to 4S?
Oct. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Next time this will happen:

It turns out that it was not your partner who was thinking more than one minut but your opponent to the right ( behind the screen ) who let one minut go before passing your partners 4S bid.

By this pausing he “tells” YOU that your partner has a club control and when you bid 6S he doubles and take his AK in clubs. Very smart player.

Director!! How to rule this?
Oct. 16, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Tomasz Radko

Why did partner not bid 4H or something else but 4S?
Oct. 15, 2018
Thomas Berg edited this comment Oct. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
But the bid was not 5H but 6S.
Oct. 15, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IMO 5H is the correct and best bid!
Oct. 15, 2018
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 26 27 28
.

Bottom Home Top