Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Thorvald Aagaard
1 2 3 4 5
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
East should bid 4, but the real problem is the 4 bid. I really see no reason to bid 4 besides not having the needed values for that bid, it might cause some confusion about the 4 bid from East, natural or CUE with s ?
March 1, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If east had Kxx of a trump might be very normal, so your plan on a -lead should probably be reconsidered.

Leading a singleton trump is often a bad idea, so on a -lead I would ruff 2 s and take the -finesse (After dropping a on the A)

Feb. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the authors just want you to throw a when caching the , as that works with the actual layout.

But with a -lead, ducked, and back, you should cross to the A, and take KJ of , when West follows he can no longer have 4 s (and he cant't have 4 s) so you can now just drop the when caching the and then 2 more s(Throw a from the table), and finally the squeezing East

All on the assumption 3 was on a 7-card suit
Feb. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think both players did some bad bidding. Normally in the reopening situation you can borrow a king (or an ace from partner), but then you have to return it if you bid again.

In the reopening situation it is often difficult to describe the hand, so a jump in a new suit is typical 6-card and 12-16 hcp, and as 1NT would typical be 11-14, so a double followed by a NT-rebid is 15-17(18), so a jump to 2 NT would be 19-21 balanced.

So West should just bid 2NT, and all troubles are over.

But after the double Easts first bid should just be on the 1-level, and 1 is right, as he will then be able to bid s showing 4-4 in the majors.

Had East bid 1 it would be obvious that west will have a bidding problem, as 1NT would be 15-17(18), and 2NT would be 22-23

After 1 from East the 2 bid from West shows a good hand after returning the borrowed King, and East should make another move, and 2/3/3 are all bids that could be considered, showing a hand with about 6-9 hcp.

I know that some players just bids 2, to show a hand with 4-card support, but here it is essential not to drive the bidding to high on minimum values, and I do not expect NS to do a lot of bidding, as they have passed to many times all ready.

So either player could have saved the day by normal bidding
Jan. 13, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why did North not bid 1? Probably due to system agreement, but it is interesting to know if a 5-2-5-1 hand must double?
Could partner have 6-card ? (ie no Weak Jumps here)

Declarer seems to be 4-6-1-2

If this is right we can make 3 and forgot to double 3.

Can partner have Axxxx,xx,KJxxx,x ? Probably more likely QT9xx,xx,KQxxx leaving declarer with
Axxx.KJxxxx,x,Ax

If partner does have A I think we have lost this in the bidding, so a small asking for a -return seems most consistent as K might allow the contract to make
Jan. 4, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The website states:

Below tables gives the a priori chance of being dealt a hand with a longest or a shortest suit of given length.

So your odds each time you pick up a hand is 1:3000 that you have a 9-card suit.

So about 1:5.000.000.000 getting 3 hands with 9-card suit in 50 hands. Possible but often due to bad dealing - either software or new decks
Dec. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bridge_probabilities#Hand_pattern_probabilities

Odds to get a 9-card suit

9 card 9-2-1-1, 9-2-2-0, 9-3-1-0, 9-4-0-0 0.00037

so around 1 every 3000 hands

so 3 in 50 hands is like winning the lottery

Thorvald
Dec. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I used to play it as shortness (and think that is standard), but to make it harder to double the suit for a lead, we changed it to be shortness in the other major
Dec. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Only display of link is fixed, the actual link is still with ? before time
Dec. 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I Like these rules.
Dec. 2, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It would have been nice if you had included a diagram with the cards left at the point declarer gave you the trick. If thinking there was 2 trumps left it was obvious to play a suit you could ruff I would accept the trick

You might also be interested in this poll : http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/what-would-you-do-3/
Dec. 1, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I know that, and I have been working on a system where you can document your system.

Taking the primary system you will get about 10-15% of the agreements, then just add the conventions you use and you are on your way to a fine description.

Those interested in more information about this can just drop me a mail.

My current investigations shows that you should have about 10.000 bidding sequences defined to have a well-defined system.

But putting it into system might be a great help to players to, as the changes are documented, can be listed etc
Nov. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
One improvement that don't have to be very expensive is to improve the explanation of the players system.

Fred Gitelman have designed and implemented Full Disclosure (FD) for usage as convention card, when playing on BBO.

I would like to see the VuGraph software to be extended so the bids from the players are explained automatically.

This would require the world best players to document their system in a formal way like FD, but I know that a lot of people would be glad to help performing that task.

Next step would then be as a viewer to be able to see, the meaning of the different bids the player has before bidding, maybe like a mouse over a virtual bidding box.

This might be a great help for commentators understand the actual bidding, and thereby improving the quality of the comments


Nov. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are right about the end position, except that declarer did not show his cards, and North could not be sure about the position, except it was the only one consistent with his partners discards.

So north could accept the concede, and be pretty sure that no-one would ever ask any questions. As far as I can read in the rules North is not obliged to check declarers hand. From norths point of view partner must have the last diamond, otherwise declarer would play it.

But I am glad do see all players will ask to see declarers last 2 cards and give him the trick he tried to avoid
Nov. 20, 2015
Thorvald Aagaard edited this comment Nov. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Fixed, thx
Nov. 20, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Page 6, 7 changed to 7, a nicely played contract by my partner
Nov. 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You Are right - I was trying to explain how to make 6 . I Will correct it.
Nov. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are right again, but you are aware, that after a to the King, declarer reconsidered the hand before asking for a spade, it was those 10 sec I was referring to, not the planning after the opening lead.
Nov. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You are right, even though declarer would know you have a problem, when you don't turn the 10.
But declarer just gave you 10 secs to make up you mind, isn't that long enough?
Nov. 14, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your partner did play the 3, showing an even number, but as he probably got the Ace he might be more interested in the number of diamonds in your hand.

And I do agree that this i a situation where you play the highest of touching honors. When there is a two or more cards on the table and you think it is correct to split, it should normally be either one above or 2 below, with a single always play the highest.
Nov. 14, 2015
1 2 3 4 5
.

Bottom Home Top