Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Ulrich Voigt
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 20 21 22 23
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'm not sure whether this play has the desired effect. A good defender should be very suspicious: would you really lead a low spade if you have Axx(x) or ATx(x), when you don't have that many dummy entries? East may conclude that you don't have the ace.

The natural looking play of a high spade may have better chances of catching East unaware.
June 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Before you have to win long matches in the BB, you have to survive a RR quite similar to the one in the European championship.

Also, being able to avoid disasters against strong opponents sounds like a useful skill if you want to win long matches against those opponents.
June 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The contract can (and probably would) still be made if South ducks 10.

Declarer continues with A, cashes exactly one heart and goes back into his hand with a club (no finesse). After all, if North holds Qxx, declarer has nine top tricks now. When North discards on the third spade, declarer exits with a fourth spade. Since South discarded a club early, he has now only hearts left and is forced to give declarer access to dummy's remaining top heart for the ninth trick.
June 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems dummy didn't follow the play closely and was in “it doesn't matter anymore” mode.
June 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Why should I start with 5? I can still bid that later on, and it's not like I'm worried about the opponents outbidding us. But a 5 opening makes it unlikely that we reach 3NT when it's right.
June 17
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Just for the record: What exactly is a mixed raise and how does it differ from a limit raise?
June 13
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
To quote Richard: What is the point of this?
June 12
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you cash two rounds of each suit, do you still have entries to enjoy the hearts even if the finesse is working?
June 7
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't see much reason to preempt; they have exchanged enough information already to find a 5m contract if it's there. However, a preempt might get partner to lead the wrong major if they should bid 3NT. I want partner to lead his longer (better) major, to achieve this I bid 2.
May 31
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can't I double followed by 3NT in this case?

On the other hand, with an immediate 3NT bid you get to play there opposite

xxx
Axxx
xx
Qxxx
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When you bid 4 the next time, partner will have a 3-2-4-4 21 count.
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would ask the other way round: what does 3NT achieve that X doesn't?
May 30
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Lynn, who are you to tell people what to do and what not to do?
May 25
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I have seen a number of strip squeezes at the table. The most common situation in my experience is a 3NT contract, when LHO leads a five card suit in which declarer has only one stopper, but is forced to discard one winner to keep a vulnerable stopper in a different suit. I have never seen the requirement that all of LHO's cards in the long suit are higher than declarer's remaining card(s).

For example, LHO leads K from KQJxx, declarer holds up once with ATx and wins the second round. Later, LHO is forced to discard a spade and then thrown in via T. I don't think it is a different kind of squeeze just because LHO could have discarded his last spade honor, giving declarer a trick directly and thus avoiding the endplay.
May 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Let's assume we have KJ and another ace. We can count combinations of high cards that make up partner's 7 points.

There are 3 combinations of partner having AQ and another jack.

There are 13 combinations of partner having A and 3 more HCP (3x K, 9x QJ, 1x JJJ).

There are 36 combinations of partner having Q and 5 more HCP (6x AJ, 9x KQ, 9x KJJ, 9x QQJ, 3x QJJJ).

There are 77 combinations of partner having 7 HCP outside spades (6x AK, 18x AQJ, 2x AJJJ, 9x KKJ, 9x KQQ, 27x KQJJ, 3x QQQJ, 3x QQJJJ).

While the probabilities aren't the same for each case, we can use these numbers as a reasonable estimate: in 52/129 cases (about 40%) partner has at least one spade honour. The odds change (but not much) if our 8 HCP are made up differently.

Disclaimer: These numbers were created without any help of a calculator, or even pen and paper.
May 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Doesn't West have a club holding like AK? He has two winners regardless of East's hand.
May 22
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Ben: How do you cue-bid hearts? For many players, (1) X (1) 2 is natural. I don't think that changes when North responds 1 transfer instead of 1.
May 20
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
West made a slightly offshape double with 4423.
North has something like 3442, probably with bad hearts.
That leaves South with 2407.

Not impossible at all.
May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You do realize West can not see East's hand? Maybe East can see that something is wrong here by looking at his hand, but how is West supposed to know that? If East acts under the assumption that South forgot to alert and the 1 bid actually shows hearts, and West doesn't, their bidding might become a little fuzzy.

Oh, and your opinion about their agreements is completely irrelevant for the ruling.
May 19
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Many years ago, opponents bid 2 - 2; 7NT against me. When I asked about the auction, they explained 2 as negative, denying something (I don't remember the details). When I asked opener what he would have bid after a positive response, I didn't get an answer.

Opener had a balanced 30 count. They made it on a finesse and a suit breaking 3-3.
May 18
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 ... 20 21 22 23
.

Bottom Home Top