Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Veljko Vujcic
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
funny, I saw that one first - find it conceptually easiest
Oct. 23, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
pass if i play lead directing tray positioning like fisher-schwartz
Sept. 29, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You're kind of right but I find it way too general.

Imagine 3NT played, declarer ducks lead twice (let's pretend there was no count given) and the guy on the lead falls into tank. A good declarer might use this to guess later what to play from, say, KJ, as opp didn't have a clear entry and thus thought about switching.

On the other side, if you are the partner of the opening leader, you might read this but it's completely useless, not to say annoying - with a clear entry your partner would signal anyway. He should've played in tempo in order to make the impression of a 4-4 suit break so that declarer might still go wrong.
Sept. 19, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Comment was very informative and just a tiny bit malignant. But removing it is heavy censorship.
Aug. 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here it could hurt. E could have AK sec and declarer could miss the line. Now, contract would already be down a several and declarer would've had psyched, but still…
July 6, 2018
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
E, but next time W will have doubleton and slam will go down on A - c!x
Nov. 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
100% N, 100% S
Sept. 16, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For the same reason you might try for the overtrick!
Sept. 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Kit, what if declarer was holding AQJxxxx/Jxxx/-/Qx? He could try to make a camouflage play knowing he was playing against a great defender to make him falsecard with Hx.
Aug. 23, 2017
Veljko Vujcic edited this comment Aug. 23, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I got to make another poll about if this poll makes sense. Good luck at your tourney.
Aug. 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I thought that problem is generic enough to present it like this and it's really stripped down to these three considerations. For example pard can't have KQJ stiff as declarer would've ducked 2nd club as well etc.

It's presented this way on purpose, because it doesn't tackle bridge skill in such extent but rather delicate issues of concentration, trust, tactics etc. I only hope the presentation was clear enough.

Thanks.
Aug. 18, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
3c was overbid imho if you don't have mechanisms to show intermediate hands (playing gazilli etc). 2c or 3nt
April 29, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
@Richard Fleet
any return could be bad. he'll probably get spade trick anyway. this way we sort out the position, as you said, handle the action to declarer and read from his moves (and from signals potentially). my bet is that this is a slow hand and not of “draw 5's and AK” type.
Feb. 7, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I'd play J at trick 1
Feb. 6, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Once at MP's I opened 1N (in tempo) in 3rd with J sixth in and nothing else, it went X on my left, 3N on my right and my (not regular) pd doubled. I remember I thought it was a terrible bridge decision to X - he agreed.

I'm just trying to say we should be honest to ourselves when these things happen, try not to judge our actions liberally and others' actions conservatively. And try not to kill the game by suffocating it with too strict regulations.
Sept. 21, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
why wouldn't he make a simple 1 call? it's 95% 5 cards and <10 hcp
Sept. 15, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
a) lead Q originally (semi-joking)
b) lead K then Q, pd shouldn't overtake but show S/P
July 6, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Depends at which point of the game it happens.
June 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
>>Kit: And how is it to be determined whether the reason for your pause is because you truly hadn't decided what you were going to do or because you were trying to elicit a tell?

There may be more complex examples out there, but in this case we could eliminate this by thinking ahead.
June 29, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
>>Kit: … I might get it wrong, but aren't I entitled to draw any such inferences?

You are entitled for sure, but I think you're drawing inference from his tempo, not his emotional state. However when it's declarer who tanks (as in the original example) only inference that can be made is based on demeanors of the opps. Here tank can be abused - trying to make opps yield to pressure.
June 29, 2016
Veljko Vujcic edited this comment June 29, 2016
.

Bottom Home Top