Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Walter Fontaine
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This deal from a club game which I directed is quite
interesting. South deals and the NS cards are as follows

43 Q95 A73 QJ975

A5 AKT764 Q6 AK2

Obviously there are three cold grand slams. Nobody
reached any of them and some were even in game.I would
be interested in what sequence bridge winners think
is best.
Walter Fontaine
April 3, 2011
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Very interesting.Did this occur more than once?
Feb. 14, 2011
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.

They cannot outlaw Psychs but it is probably illegal to psych in the same situation in the same manner
more than once. Also psychic conventional bids are taboo.
However , even that does not outlaw semi pschs such as
bidding 2NT asking for a feature when you could not care less if partner has one and can afford to be put in game
as a 2 way action knowing it is unlikely to be your hand.
Another interesting situation occurs when your hapless RHO opponent bids 2C out of turn. You are red on white and
have 65 T974 KQT8 432. If you psych a diamond here,it is
a high percentage action if it is legal-food for thought.
This has the effect of barring your LHO from the auction.
Does it matter if it is a A player or a much lesser player?
Feb. 14, 2011
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.

I would jump shift to 3C intending to rebid clubs if I do not get heart support.
Feb. 13, 2011
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I agree with the majority that 3D was a bad call,but in context
South should have bid 3Nt, which is not a bad contract. That is why I
believe that 4D was worst than 3D because it was the last clear chance to
a disaster. I hope the failure to double 3NT as an error is a joke.
Dec. 27, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.

Good question. There was once a 5 and 5 rule
that stated that you could bid with fewer than five
HCP by agreement if you marked it on your card , but you could not use conventions
to cater to this. It is a slippery slope between that 3 count and perhaps
KJT987 and no other cards which has 4 HCP literally
but most feel is not a violation because of the spot cards.
Also according to the rules does this violation affect the tempo/
tempo ofthe opposition. That question alone made the committee non-frivolous
Dec. 26, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.



Very interesting deal. Thanks for sharing.
Dec. 26, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
After the fit-showing 4C, if I get a 4H signoff, I will cuebid 5d.
If pard bids 5D, I punt with 5H. If partner cue bids 4S, I bid 5NT.
Sept. 27, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I am probably going there eventually, but may not buy the
contract. I might not buy it anyway, but the opponents will surely be guessing,
whatever they do.
Sept. 27, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I will lead the 10 of spades. I am not convinced that the double of 4 diamonds
was a good call. North was going to be on lead in any case. If we are playing against experts
scare doubles of thisd kind rarely are effective. I assume the form of scoring is IMPS.
At matchpoints, I would lead the diamond ace.
Aug. 22, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Clint Morrell was unique but he had his share of disasters too.
Particularly his lead directing doubles of 3 NT. Most of his opponents never redoubled when he was wrong so at IMP scoring the math was on his side. Nonvul he was getting about 3-1 odds.
However if the declarer suspects that he is wrong always redoubles the math is in the declarer's favor. If 400 becomes 550 against say 430 the loss is only 3 , but redouble
will gain 9 for the 800. Clint also was an excellent technician especially with squeezes.
He was often last minute getting to the table. Once on a 5 bagger in a KO he missed the first hand and the 5th on his team made a greedy double of 7 hearts and this resulted in a correction to 7NT making on a squeeze because the 5 hearts to the 10 were accompanied by the off side spade queen and an automatic squeeze occurred.
Aug. 10, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.

On the now famous 6D bid in the Springold match, why would he not
have bid 4NT instead of just pinging 6D off the wall? This seems like a more normal way to get to diamonds if it is right. The only reason for bidding this way seems to be assuring that he declares the hand. AmI missing something?

Walt of RI
Aug. 10, 2010
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If one wanted to cater to a possible diamond slam , would not 4NT be the way to go or did Mr.Pilch want to make sure he was declarer?

Walt of RI
Aug. 10, 2010
.

Bottom Home Top