Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Wayne Burrows
1 2 3 4 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 ... 58 59 60 61
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The bidding polls are one of the best features of this site in my view and certainly a valuable resource. It is a pity that they cannot be easily searched or found.

It would be great if BridgeWinners could make them searchable somehow.
Feb. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It has become accepted that incomplete designations are not an infraction. They are. The laws simply say how to resolve an incomplete designation without making it the proper procedure.

For example and continuing from my previous comment, when declarer is in dummy and calls for the queen and there are two queens in the dummy and dummy pulls the queen of the suit played to the previous trick, it is still an infraction of L46A and I do not think that dummy should be indicating the card that is deemed to have been played by L46B. Dummies almost invariably seem to pick the card that they think should be played for the best bridge result.
Feb. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't quite do that but similar.

If partner says king and there are two kings that are legal plays I act as if I do not know which king is being referred to. Which usually forces partner to clarify.
Feb. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sure I understand the situation I described has four small. However the possibility of partner being short is real after 1 and 2 rebid. Partner rates to be short in one of your suits and clubs is as likely as spades (at least approximately).

Moreover if partner is 3=5=4=1 then spades would often be a fine contract.
Feb. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
A similar situation that gets me with dummies is for them ruffing before declarer has called for the ruff. Sometimes when declarer subsequently gives an incomplete designation like “five” or “queen” I simply say “of diamonds” or whatever is the non-trump suit if there is a matching card of the relevant rank in dummy.

Another situation is when declarer is in dummy and dummy pulls the winner without declarer calling for the card or as above declarer ambiguously calls for the winner with an incomplete designation and dummy automatically pulls the correct card.

Dummy is dummy and needs to wait for clear instructions not try and direct the play.
Feb. 25, 2019
Wayne Burrows edited this comment Feb. 26, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seriously?
Feb. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I voted takeout as a hand without a heart stopper and extra values has no other bid here. However, at these colours a penalty double is a reasonable alternative. You will often be able to clip 3 for 200 or more even when your side does not have a game.
Feb. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In a vacuum restricted choice applies to both the 9 and 8 negating each other.

At its most basic you need hearts 2=2. Having seen a heart from both opponents they each must have one left for you to make your contract. It is exactly 50-50 which one of the two is the queen.

The only valid inferences available that take you away from 50-50 are potentially from why the opponent's defended this way? Why the club lead? Why the third club? That is is the third club more likely to have been from a hand with or without the Q. I think these questions are subjective.
Feb. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The last person who asked me “Was I insane to bid 2?” received the response “Do you really want me to answer that question?”
Feb. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are there problems with 4th suit invitational when responder has a directionless game force?

For example after 1 1; 2 how do you hand a hand with four spades, two hearts, three diamonds, no club stopper and game force?
Feb. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Are they there already?
Feb. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And we don't play against anyone in this situation often enough to know what they always do and if we ask their partner might not know either. Therefore in practice we have a guess.

As an aside it would be much better if our game kept accurate information about these things that was available so we could at least potentially exploit non-random aspects of players games.
Feb. 25, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Is there a play for three tricks with this combination?
Feb. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It seems that when you lead an ace and the king comes in the dummy, especially Kx, then consideration should be given to playing suit preference as if a singleton came in the dummy.

Here that is complicated by the fact that partner might have a stiff club.

There is also the problem of reading the 5. Given that there is a real danger of the second diamond vanishing I would play A and buy another signal from partner.

A comment on the bidding:

It seems inefficient to have two bids to show hearts, Double and 2, and no bids to show spades. Well maybe you have 2 as natural.

Having been a long time fan of (1x) P (1M) 2M as natural because 1M doesn't show much in terms of suit quality and it can be a real problem with a decent hand and five or six cards in their major, then I would much prefer to play 1 as natural when they give me the additional space by playing transfers.

Yes having a heart suit is more frequent here but that needs to be weighed against there being more danger in bidding spades so a lower natural 1 has an advantage.
Feb. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
LHO has QT or T9 and the T9 is diminished because LHO might have played the 9. Therefore LHO is more likely to have QT.

RHO has Q8 or 98 and the 98 is diminished because RHO might have played the 9. Therefore RHO is more likely to have the Q8.

So the finesse and the drop both work (in the long run) with both being better than 50% propositions (around 2:1).

Therein lies the flaw.
Feb. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sadly John the precedent in New Zealand is that a pair that were doing this without the aid of a card holder were not held accountable.

In an Interprovincial trial one partner was found to be sorting their cards so that there was a gap between suits so that their partner could count the distribution. Not only were they not (significantly) disciplined they were allowed to win the trial and represent their region in the Interprovincial Championships.
Feb. 24, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Ron

We have the generic agreement that over 4th suit a jump shows extra values. Here is 2 does not promise extras then our loose agreement that we are allowed to vary from based on the precise auction (usually based on the level) is that minimum NTs are weak and jumps are 15-17. If the minimum NT is 2NT then it can be 18-19 too. If the minimum NT is 3NT we would probably need a little extra to jump with most hands.


Secondly, there is a problem with this sort of hand that I have never seen anything sensible written about. Say partner bids 3NT and you do make a quantitative raise. The problem is that your xxxx does not contain a control and partner's stopper could be QJx. Partner does not know that you do not have A or K and you have no way to determine whether partner has either of those cards.

Something similar happens in many potentially quantitative auctions. It is worse in similar auctions where partner might have four card length and you have a singleton and the singleton hand wants to invite slam after no fit has been found and partner has bid NTs.
Feb. 23, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes there are responder's reverses. I was restricting myself to opener's reverses given the heading in the post.
Feb. 23, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There are only two (generic) auctions:

1. 1 2m; 2

2. 1 2; 2M

I treat the two cases differently.

In the first case I like this to show extra values which has the advantages that Michael Hargreaves pointed out above. In our case this is slightly complicated and more necessary because of the fact that we use 1M 2 as a three-way bid that is not completely forcing to game.

In the second case there is are competing objectives between being able to find a 4=4 major fit and being able to show stoppers for no trumps. This creates an ambiguity between when a major suit bid is showing a 4-card suit and when it is merely a probe for no trumps. In consequence relatively recently we have begun playing that 1 2; 2M shows a four card major and is silent on strength and hand type (balanced or unbalanced) and a 2 rebid is a catch all for hands without a major and unsuitable for some other action - 2NT which is balanced with both majors stopped; 3 which is a natural raise; 3 which is extra values and at most a one-loser suit; and 3M which are splinters. 3NT is also some 18-19 balanced hands typically 3=3=5=2.

My initial impression is that this works well. After a 2 or 2M rebid the responder is frequently able to rebid 2NT or 3 which allows opener room to clarify hand type.
Feb. 22, 2019
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
“pass of a redouble is not for penalties in a suit the passer could have bid at the 1-level”

Frances I do not fully understand what you mean by this rule.

Does this mean that after (1c) p … that a subsequent pass directly over a redouble of any level diamond, heart, or spade contract is not to play?

For example

1c p 1s x
4s p p x
xx p

this would seem to be such a pass.
Feb. 22, 2019
1 2 3 4 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 ... 58 59 60 61
.

Bottom Home Top