Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Wei-Bung Wang
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The probability of having spade length increases significantly after showing spade honors. Assume south has AK of spades, and no QJ of spades. The combination South holds

AK tight and 11 cards in other suit => (39 choose 11) = 1676 million
AKx and 10 cards in other suit => (7 choose 1) * (39 choose 10) = 5722 million
AKxx and 9 cards in other suit => (7 choose 2) * (39 choose 9) = 7629 million
AKxxx and 8 cards in other suit => (7 choose 3) * (39 choose 8) = 5768 million

Less then 1/10 of chance he has only two spades. It is mathematically correct that East-West should avoid bidding spades.
Dec. 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner and I got a slow play penalty in Blue Ribbon Pairs, 2nd session of the final. We got different explanation from two sides of the screen, and landed on a bad doubled contract. Since the explanation didn't align with the bidding, my partner took extra time to play it, and we received 1/6 board penalty. Because slow play penalty had been issued, we moved to next round without discussing it. We didn't realize misinformation until the end of the session. We called the director who issued us the slow-play penalty. Unfortunately, it's too late, our opponents had left, no fact could be established, and table result stood.
Dec. 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don’t understand why a heart shift is safe. Partner asked you to lead a spade by bidding 2, and you didn’t shift to a spade? If this is behind screen, I think the likely defense is a low spade from you, declarer can now eliminate your clubs, play another spade for 10 tricks.
Dec. 10, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
There's another advantage to lead a club. Declarer may think we have +, lead Q from KQJT (Rusinow), and play the whole hand wrong.
May 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Thanks for all comments. Here's the whole hand

————-KJ53
————-AK97
————-Q5
————-Q42
A76————–QT984
J85432———
94—————AJ62
J9—————A763
————-2
————-QT6
————-KT873
————-KT85

W N E S
2 Dbl 4 Dbl
Pass 4
Lead A, result 4/N -2

It was actually a hypothetical question since South didn't ask what 4 was. I created this poll because someone thought if South had asked what 4 was, West would be forced to tell the agreement based on multi 2 and exposed the misunderstanding, so NS would be able to avoid their misunderstanding.

Here are second-hand “fact” I got:
1. No screen.
2. On the cc, 2=weak 2, West forgot.
3. It was unclear when NS questioned what 2 was.
4. Nobody questioned what 4 was.
5. West called the director after East tabled her first lead.

The director adjusted the result to 3NT/N=, which I didn't agree.

West got UI from East's explanation, but the UI actually suggested running to 4. West was lucky that 4 was not “bid your major” in her multi 2 system, so she could pass 4. I think it should be table result stand.
Oct. 19, 2016
Wei-Bung Wang edited this comment Oct. 19, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If there are a general rule and a more specific rule, the more specific rule should be applied when they overlap, otherwise the more specific rule is just waste of time.
Oct. 18, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
This poll is related to another poll http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/lead-problem-1163/.

It's actually a play problem, and eventually have to guess the opening leader has this hand or the hand in the other poll. These two polls will be good references for the play analysis.
Sept. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Yes, anything could be right.

This poll is related to another poll http://bridgewinners.com/article/view/lead-problem-1164/.

It's actually a play problem, and eventually have to guess the opening leader has this hand or the hand in the other poll. These two polls will be good references for the play analysis.
Sept. 17, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
http://www.correctcontract.com/ is a very mobile friendly bridge website. Not sure if it helps though
July 13, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here's what I like to play opposite 2=5-card invite
Pass = pass
2NT = run, usually singleton spade (useful if the auction starts 1-1-1NT)
3 = maximum but no fit, partner can pass/3 if he has 5-5 and a light invitation
3 = Fit, counter invite
3NT = Fit, choice of game.
May 13, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What happens if this tournament had been online?

Recently I opened 2NT with very good 19 points, then realized that we swapped 2NT and 2C then 2NT. Upon explanation request, I simply entered 22-23. Misbidder has a chance to suddenly remember their agreement, so I don't think there must be a misinformation if behind a screen.
May 7, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think the advantage of playing puppet stayman with weak notrump is greater with two reasons

(1) You open 1NT much more frequently, so you take advantage more frequently.
(2) You need to run to 2 a lot more.

Another thing to consider when playing puppet stayman with weak notrump is, after 1N-2-2, you may want responder to bid 2/2 naturally, so it's played from the right side if there is a fit.
March 8, 2016
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
You can rotate the board by 90 degree then put the screen, and Leo's argument would be perfect. It would be stupid that the ruling depends on if non-offending side is NS or EW.
Dec. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I didn't even object your opinion. Both passing and 1 are reasonable to me. I simply want to know what opponents had.
Nov. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I bid 1 because I play Rubens Advance and partner has many ways to show different types of support.
Nov. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partner might raise 3 to 4 with 5-4-2-2.
Nov. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If your partner had your LHO's hand, how would the auction has gone? If he had your RHO's hand, how would the auction has gone? If 1 is the winner in all 3 cases, then your argument will be more solid.
Nov. 11, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Chris,

I do play the version you stated above, with some extra flavor, and I like it a lot.

After 1M-2N-3, responder does not have to bid 3, he can bid 3/3/3N to show his shortness, showing a hand too strong to splinter, usually not good enough to keycard.

After 1M-2N-3, responder 3/3/3N are again shortness.
Nov. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Here is my math.

QJ doubleton is 1.6%.
QJ doubleton playing Q is 0.8%
QJ doubleton playing J is 0.8%.

J singleton is 1.25%.
Nov. 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If it is right to bid 4NT now, then you should just bid 1-1-4NT. Otherwise, partner slow 4 would just bar you from bidding 4NT now.

I don't object bidding 4NT with this hand, but you should make the decision before bidding 4. Once 4 is chosen, you should pass now to be consistent.
Nov. 8, 2015
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
.

Bottom Home Top