Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Will Roper
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
With one partner over 1-(2):

Dbl = T/O
2 = Natural
2 = 5+; F1
2N = ; invite+
3 = Invite raise
3 = Competitive with /GF with
3 = Mixed raise
3 = Transfer to 3N
4 = Splinter

We play this kind of structure over pretty much any interference bid up to and occasionally including 3.
Nov. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unless I am mistaken the WBF's main aim is, or should be, to promote bridge. That simply isn't happening at the moment and they seem to have lost their way.

I don't mind Richard's proposal and can see how it is a good financially orientated structure. However, to me anyway, any championship that claims to be a “World” championship should be a contest between nations. I understand that the Transnationals & co are prestigious, don't follow this rule etc etc. But as Ian puts it….people like to be patriotic and support their country. If you want to truly get the kibitzers involved then this is the way to go.

Fred's proposal is interesting and obviously the big issue is “who should be invited”. One possible solution is that there are events hosted around the globe, such as the Cavendish, Vanderbilt, Yeh Bros, NEC etc which attract multiple professionals from all countries. If a scoring formula could be put together then the top 3 pairs from 10 different countries could be invited. If there were not sufficient pairs then the selected pair could choose their teamates (strong teamies in good faith). This would hopefully avoid the NBO issue. It might also promote more strong players to travel to different countries “crown jewel” events.
Oct. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do the words “or better” mean nothing in this day and age.
Oct. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I was partner on this deal and held:

Kxxx
Jxx
AJTxx
x

My partner jumped to 6 over 4 which rolled in +1 with the K onside.

Unlike some people here I am in the camp that this hand needs to make a try. However I thought 6 was too proactive?

W

Oct. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The J/T/9 is actually quite important…. KQJx xx KT9xx, xx Is fine for slam. KT is passable.
Oct. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The question then: Is it worth having two bids which attempt to pin them against the wall?

I don't think so hence the approach whereby only XX directly says that this is ridiculous. The other options show/deny stoppers which can also be very useful in deciding the final contract especially since we don't have a cuebid looking for 3N.

Maybe it is worth reversing the approach though. E.g Pass = A/K (then partner can pass to play). Bidding denies A/K.
Oct. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Partners a passed hand…
Oct. 29, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think Ian opens these 1m
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
An increasingly common expert treatment is to utilise 2 here:
1N-2
2-2 = Both minors GF (then 2N asks)

I.e 2 = Hearts or GF both minors

It gives you now more spaces to enquire.

An alternative advantage means that:
1N-?

3 = shortage and 5-5 minors
3 = shortage and 5-5 minors

Regards,

W

P.S obvious you need to rework your super accepts as a result…
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
one for the road :D
Sept. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I haven't seen this situation before (Thank you for posting it)

My assumption is that my partner's 3rd round in these situations is generally suit preference. In a general sense Low=Lower, High=Higher and middle = trump therefore if they played the middle card that would tempt me towards the uppercut. However they are unlikely to want a club back here so any low card indicates this action in my eyes.

On this situation though the position should be pretty clear to everyone (unless declarer has found the 6 from KJ965) so I would assume simple old count on the return card from partner. High = they are ruffing, Low = they aren't.

Annoying that the two are contradictory. Perhaps this example could be touted for Reverse Suit Pref (until the equivalent question re 6/7 or 4/5 comes along) :)

Obviously an agreement would be better. The question of which out of high/low is better is probably unlikely to ever profit. My thoughts would be that if the other two cards were suit preference (and declarer tends to throw low cards first unless obscuring 2's etc) then in the majority situations a lower cards will be easier to read and should be the overuffing scenario (suit pref clarifies when decl follows)
Sept. 22, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Abstained since no explanation as to what the 8 was, how good declarer is/my partner is. Assuming suit preference I think it is a toss up between A & small club.


Small club works when declarer has xx and misguesses. This isn't enough to take it off and assuming declarer has 10 cards in the majors it seems like they are likely to have minor shortage.

A is interesting. If we then switch back to hearts declarer can ruff but it may stop him from finessing partners Qxx/Kx of .

Partner can only have 9 points in the other suit so must probably have a big spade honour which leans me towards the A. However that is the match points part of me wanting to guarantee 3 tricks and am probably wrong.

At teams I would smoothly switch to a small club without thinking too much (hope for Qx clubs and the A.

Regards,

W
Sept. 7, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Most sports don't have 3 “world cups”……
Sept. 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
B1-B4 seem odd.

B5 - Seems reasonable. A lot of people, on this side of the pond at least, play Leb there as constructive NF? If anything the pass seems more odd if they play ELCD.

B6 & B7 - a trump seems normal.

B8 - I am not good at leading these situations (agree though that the passive lead thought is interesting)

B9 - dunno what double is but expect lightner so leading a looks standard. Do they play Rev suit pref? If not the 8 looks weird.

B10 like 1-4 seems odd

I am not arguing for the pair… This is just my view of the hands.
Aug. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Both :D See my above post.
July 9, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Sure that depends on your preference…i.e how often you want to play in 3N with a trump fit etc.

My partner and play that 3N is Serious 3N if unlimited, Turbo if limited. If we have a Serious 3N then 4 is the starter bid which works fine.

July 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
My partner and I play multiple variations of where the “starter bid” is for Turbo, depending on level trumps set and major/minor. Ergo, it depends which we are using as to where the Q ask is. General rules are:

1. If 3N/4C is our starter bid (as it often is for the majors) then 4N shows the QT and bypassing it denies the QT.

2. If we set a minor by 3m then bidding 4m shows the QT, bypassing it denies the QT. This also applies in some limited major auctions where a slam try is made at the 4 level below the trump suit.

3. If we have shown all cue bids then signing off in 5m/5M denies the QT and is NF. 5N is the equivalent if looking for 7.

N.B for the last point if we have shown/denied the QT prior to this point using 1 or 2 then we use this sign off to deny extras.
July 8, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only reason your LHO will know to pass 2x with Hxx is if you sit there fidgeting and they realise you don't want this to be passed out. A smooth pass puts all the pressure on them…
July 6, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Do you think lefty is going to stand 2 doubled on that description? I don't think so….
July 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Worth noting that Pass as NF with Diamonds is one of the hardest bids to defend often. Since this isn't that it must surely be right to pass and see which major declarer has got. If it was Diamonds I would XX (:P)
July 3, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top