Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Wouter Fitski
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If black actually loses control of the c7 square by for example giving away 2 bishops and placing the other one somewhere irrelevant white can actually win if his king is on d7. Pawn c7,King B7, pawn C8 and mate :).
March 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Can white actually force a draw? I know the rules state a draw if play continues indefinately which it normally will but actually force a draw in a certain set of moves seems impossible without blacks help (spoiler: not moving certain bischops).
March 15, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Seems about right: dont bid something when you know partner might not understand your meaning behind it, even if your bid is theorethically correct.
March 13, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And not only that, why would declarer ever duck when he has the J?
March 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would call this a normal vulnerable preemptive 3 bid tbh, intermediate would show more. You have about 7 tricks (6-7diamonds and 0-1 spades).

If you wait to long for the perfect preemptive hand then you will simply not preempt enough to cause problems for the opponents. Partner can always bid 3NT, since this implies a fit you can always run-out when doubled by the opps (or rdl as doubtshowing).
March 8, 2017
Wouter Fitski edited this comment March 8, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In the Netherlands Raptor overcalls are quite commons when passed, showing in this case 4hearths and 5+in any minor. Its a matter of agreements
March 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
And you wouldnt end up in 3NT (your p) if you opened 1? If all finesses dont work then obviously you go down.

Think of this: if you are forced to play 3NT, wouldnt you want to be declarer? Kx and Qxx are very vulnerable holdings you want to protect.

If say one opp has A109xx of hearths and leads it, you cant duck with Kx in dummy so you win, then later the other opp will come back with a hearth and the opps set up 4 tricks.

If however Qxx is in dummy you are guarenteed 2 hearth tricks, letting the hearth to your king and Qx stays behind the ace. This happens surprisingly often, esspecially with Jx and Qx holdings.
March 2, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Bit of a blurred mix between both preemptive and invitational in my agreements. Invitational but offensive hand with 6+spades
March 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
If you play gazzilli, west could bid 3 immediately showing a good 5/5 with approx 14-16hcp, West would have an easy 4. 3 would however also be an overbid considering your void in partners suit.

Now East has a big problem, any choice has pros and cons. I would personally go for 2NT after 2 (3 would be SI imo). Your hand is balanced and partner will usually have at least some clubs.
March 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
What was South thinking when bidding 3? His p has 0-7hcp with clearly 4or5clubs (no 2 from opener nor any support from his p) and he has 18. Seems like an invite to me. 3 gets the message across just fine.
March 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I think most people assume that OP plays dbl as penalty here. I would normally always play this as take-out. In that case the original 1NT opener should dbl if he is short in spades (xx).
March 1, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
- Should N open 1♣ and plan to rebid 3♣?
I like 1NT with this type of hand but this one is WAY to strong for a 15-17NT (6crd is worth +-1,5hcp extra). I would prob open 1 and either rebid 2NT or 3 depending on the auction and partners bid.

- Should S just pass 1nt?
2 seems normal, you have a clear invite with 4 and 5. The rest of the field will do this as well.

- Should S not bid 2NT?
Hell no! He doesn't have a stopper which he now clearly shows. Dbl as take-out is the best option here but overbidding a bit with 3 isnt terrible either (if dbl is pen then you are in trouble here).

- Is the double reasonable?
At MP, Yes. If the contract makes it doesnt matter where you dbl or not, the score will be horrible for you anyway (10-20%). At MP you have to protect your score, and +50 wont score very high, hopefully +100 will do better (or maybe 300)

- Is 3nt OK?
If partner wanted to play in 3NT he would have bid it, seems better to pass and hope for the best. Either that or bid 3NT immediately after 3
Feb. 28, 2017
Wouter Fitski edited this comment Feb. 28, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
At imps it is actually always good to bid 3NT when 4333 vs any balanced hand, including a 5332 with a 9card major fit!

I think Han Peter is better able to explain this, since he is the one who did the simulations to prove this.

If you check the game you'll see 4 has absolutely no chance whereas 3NT has very good chances (losing 1hearth and 3 diamonds on a diamond lead)
Feb. 27, 2017
Wouter Fitski edited this comment Feb. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Your p got lucky this time since you have a clear maximum. You are not allowed to take the pause in bidding into consideration, you didnt. Over an invite with 5 you have an easy 3NT. Results stand.

PS: Your opponent should learn more about the rule imo, to many weaker players seem to think you always have to pass when your partner thinks.
Feb. 27, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The technique and power is already there, the libratus computer from the university of pitsbourg recently smashed 4 top poker proffesionals heads-up in no-limit holdem. This could just as easily been with bridge. Bridge and poker are remarkebly similar games, given that a player has to make decisions based on incomplete information.
The only reason that such a computer isnt there yet is because bridge is simply not popular enough (at least in the general public)for scientist to spent their time on.
Feb. 24, 2017
Wouter Fitski edited this comment Feb. 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Penalty is extremely rare to downright impossible if your opps are somewhat decent. Double simply means “partner i have a lot of points, this will go down. You are allowed to bid if you have a highly offensive hand planning to make whatever you bid”. partner will therefore pass pretty much all balanced hands, including 5332 with AQxxx of .

I made the agreement that partner assumes you have a balanced 17count, bidding means you are planning to make your contract versus that balanced hand.

3-4 seems reasonable in terms of number
Feb. 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I would never support p with 3 with that hand. Way to risky partner will put me in 3NT. 3 should show somewhere between 6-9points. I can always raise diamonds later.

East could have J of and 10 of in which case declarer has 5 diamonds, 2 clubs and the ace of hearths for 8 tricks. He could develop the 9th in both clubs and spades. 7 seems like an encouraging signal so continuing hearths seems best. Lets hope declarer will go for the double club finesse instead of getting his garanteerd spade tricks.
Feb. 24, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
partial in matchpoints, game in imps (or invite)
Prob stayman and delayed Texas over 2.
Feb. 22, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Although 1NT doesn't necessarily need a diamond stopper (10xxx or something is fine), it does promise points, somewhere in the 6-10 range. Cuebid is therefore forcing to game.
Feb. 21, 2017
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
IF 2 is one round forcing then 3 must be a cue. If 2 is not forcing then 3 must be natural.
Feb. 21, 2017
.

Bottom Home Top