Join Bridge Winners
All comments by Zelig Rubenstein
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
As Frances Hinden mentions below, this is a USBF not an ACBL event. I hadn't realized that at the time of my previous post.
Dec. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The ACBL General Conditions of Contest explicitly say

“Players who, by experience or expertise, recognize that their opponents have neglected to Alert a special agreement will be expected to protect themselves.”

I think that would apply in this situation and EW are to blame for their poor result.
Dec. 31, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Over 2C, 2D says partner opened light, 2H,S,NT are natural and forward going.

If I bid 3C over any of these rebids, I'm showing an invitational hand with clubs, anything else promises a fit.

It's always possible partner has psyched although I can't recall it ever happening yet. If they did, I assume they'd pass 2C and see what happens.
Dec. 16, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I don't promise a fit when I play Drury. I either have a fit or I have a club suit.
Dec. 15, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
AVBAF?
Nov. 21, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
For Grand Life Master the requirements include winning a national event, not necessarily a NABC win. Canadian (CNTC, CWTC, COPC) and Mexican national events count for those eligible.
Nov. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
That's essentially what East said after the hand. He claimed that a slam try opposite a limited hand should promise controls in both unbid suits rather than deny them.

I'm not sure how obvious that should be at the table but it sounded good in the bar.
Oct. 30, 2015
Zelig Rubenstein edited this comment Nov. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I've never heard that agreement before. I like it.
Oct. 30, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I had a lot of success with that 2NT opening when my partner remembered, not so much when she forgot :-(
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
The only time I played the Fast Pairs, we had to wait to start every round of the first session. The pair I was following won the event.
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
From the General Conditions of Contest, Conventions and Convention Cards

“If a TD determines that neither player
has a substantially completed card, the
partnership may only play the ACBL
Standard American Yellow Card (SAYC)
and may only use standard carding. This
restriction may only be lifted at the
beginning of a subsequent round after
convention cards have been properly
prepared and approved by the TD. Further,
the partnership will receive a 1/6
board match point penalty for each
board played, commencing with the next
round and continuing until the
restriction is lifted.
In IMP scored teams games
penalties shall be at the
discretion of the TD.”

http://www.acbl.org/assets/documents/play/Conditions-of-Contest/General-AllEvents.pdf
Oct. 27, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Didn't see your comment when I made the same suggestion.
How's life Shelagh?
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
In similar situations I've written to rulings@acbl.org and have found their responses very prompt and detailed.

Carrying a copy of their response is also helpful in dealing with unsure directors.
Oct. 23, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
I once put down AKQJTxxx Q AQJx - as dummy in 7S after a Schenken 2D opening.
Oct. 19, 2015
Zelig Rubenstein edited this comment Oct. 19, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
It was a 1 IMP victory decided in committee in Chicago that led to Sweden being invited to play.
Oct. 10, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Buddy, the third team is chosen between Canada and Mexico. Bermuda is no longer in Zone 2.

Perhaps the US should get a third team and have to fill it with Canadian expatriates.
Oct. 3, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
http://live.acbl.org/player-results/ACBL# will give you a player's tournament record for the last couple of years.
Sept. 28, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
When my robot opponent overcalled my 1NT opening showing spades and a minor with 4=0=0=9 and it's “partner” took a preference to clubs, it makes you wonder.
Sept. 26, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.

Kit Woolsey was the first I recall advocating “non-serious 3NT”
Sept. 13, 2015
You are ignoring the author of this comment. Click to temporarily show the comment.
Unfortunately starting next week and for the following three weeks there are a number of holidays in Israel which are likely to slow things down a bit.
Sept. 8, 2015
.

Bottom Home Top