Join Bridge Winners
club night bad feeling

West
A72
QJ82
KQJ
985
North
QJ1065
K10964
984
East
94
53
A652
AJ1062
South
K83
A7
1073
KQ743
W
N
E
S
1NT
P
2
2NT
P
3NT
4
P
P
P
D
4 North
NS: 0 EW: 0

 

this happened at my club. my p S opened 1nt weak. I bid 2. maybe this wasn't right but actually I intended to pass or bid 2 over 2.

West did not alert 2nt.

Yes I bid 4 which apparently sealed my fate as apparently doing this revoked any right I had to redress. If you're wondering why I did this, it's because up until my partner passed I had no idea that anyone at the table didn't realise 2nt was unusual.

Anyway my partner passed and so did West even though he would later swear blind he thought 2nt was natural. It's a friendly club and I wasn't (until now) that concerned abot strict adherence to the rules.

The director originally adjusted the score, but EW appealed and sought the opinions of various experts who were all of the opinion that the result should stand.

Cowed by the opinions of the "experts" I reluctantly accepted this. Apparently what decided it was my decision to bid 4.

I happen though now to think the opinions of the experts were nonsense.

 

Point 1. EW said they had no agreement. They were though playing unusual no trump overcalls.

Unexplained behaviour: why did E bid it and why did W pass 4C

Question: If EW are playing unusual no trump overcalls, would 2nt in this situation normally be natural

 

Point 2. NS are not entitled to recompense because they bid 4

On this hand 3nt goes 3 down for a top. But what if it goes 2 down?  Is not the entire hand defined by the failure to alert 2nt. I'm in a bind. Think about it. According to the "experts" I'm entitled to no redress if there's a failure to alert and I pass. So EW get -2 and we get a bottom. If I double what would north do? Field it with a minimum? If I bid I get a bottom.

 

Point 3. Tell me, seriously, a bit like another notorious ruling discussed on this site, if the roles had been reversed and we'd done this to to a top pair, do you honestly think we'd get away with it????

 

Point 4. W Described East's bid as a "psyche". And this is the whole point of my post. I was just curious. I've been on the wrong end of a few of these bids that look identical to systemic bids according to the opp's cc that later get ruled as not systemic. I was just wondering. Is there any one out there that's been on the right end of one of these "psyches". Its amazing how well these bids work out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

17 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top