Join Bridge Winners
Director err!

Playing with regular partner at Naples single session sectional (open pairs, with a side 499 pairs ongoing).

West
1082
J1094
K97
1052
North
AK7
32
62
AK8643
East
J954
AK8765
J5
J
South
Q63
Q
AQ10843
Q97
W
N
E
S
2
P
4
5
X
P
P
P
D
5X North
NS: 0 EW: 0

We are E-W. Partner opens 2H. I alert it as by agreement our non-vul first seat preempts can be very wild (with later bids to identify trash hands). Opps ask for our cards, that shows 2H explanation as 2-10 HCP, can be 5 carder. Director called and the reason cited was we were playing an illegal range for preempts for the sectional. Director agrees to it citing max range for a preempt can be 8 including both the extremities.

Ruling: I was barred from using any conventions as my partner used illegal bids. I bid 4H. After 5C overcall, my partner doubles. We have no agreement what the double would mean in this scenario. Partner wanted to show that his preempt was a constructive preempt. I left the double in, and 5C doubled was made.

After the results were posted, I looked up at the open chart in use:

Disallowed opening bids:

11. *** A non-Forcing 2-level opening bid in first or second seat that has a Range of greater than 9 HCP and could show less than Average Strength.

I showed the chart to the director later. He adjusted the board for us (he verbally confirmed it), from 0% to something (i don’t know what as the results do not reflect any changes in acbl live).

What rights do i have in similar circumstances when the director is making an error? I may sometimes have to sacrifice 5H or pass the 5C. What steps should be taken to get a fair score?

23 Comments
Getting Comments... loading...
.

Bottom Home Top