Join Bridge Winners
Insight into a Successful High School Bridge Club in the 21st Century

A little bit about me:

I am 28 years old, and live in Minnesota.

I am making this post because I have a bit of a unique perspective in that I learned how to play bridge in a high school bridge club (2002-2006).

I am a regional master. I played quite a bit of bridge in high school, but have only played face to face bridge on an occasional basis since I graduated from high school.

I do like to play on bridge base, especially the robot reward tournaments.

I attended the World Junior Individual Championships and Bridge Camp in New York 2004.

My parents do not play, and I do not have any immediate family members who play, although my grandmother played who passed away when I was five years old played.

I could not find any posts going into detail about how a modern high school bridge club worked, so I thought I would talk about it.

My hope is to provide insight into how a successful high school bridge club is run, and a bit about my mindset.

If people have any questions about my specific bridge experiences, feel free to ask. I can go into more detail.

How did you get started in bridge?

When I was in 8th grade our math teacher allowed our advisor to spend some time during an advisory class period teaching students the very basics of bridge.

A bunch of students in our grade picked up on it, and would play bridge during study hall, or other down time.

I was slow to grasp the basics, so I mostly watched and wished I was good enough so I could play in these games more often.

It was during 8th grade that I decided I would continue in high school. Regardless, I do feel there is a pretty good chance I would have joined the bridge club in high school.

What type of school did you go to?

Private independent K-12 school. 250-260 students in the high school, about 700 overall.

How did your advisor learn bridge and get a club started?