Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Ai-Tai Lo

Ai-Tai Lo
Ai-Tai Lo
  • 0
    Following
  • 19
    Followers
  • 11
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
May 10, 2012
Last Seen
an hour ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
aitail
ACBL Ranking
Diamond Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
54th European Team Championships
Sabine posted on FB that she thinks 16 board per match is too short. Each team will only play 48 boards a day. 20 boards per match is probably too many so perhaps 18 board per match is optimum which will be 54 boards a day. You will still have ...
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
Peg, I agree with you that North should not ask if 4 specifically shows a void but just a simple question to make sure 4 was a splinter since East didn't alert it. My main point is North would have a much better case if he had ...
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
Michael, I agree with you that South would probably save if North had passed. But I would not give benefit of the doubt to someone who makes a terrible double without even making sure what 4 means and his partner (assuming their skill level are about the same) so ...
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
I said “should” which I believe it means it is advisable to do so for his own protection. If he had done so, he would not have been in this situation even after East committed an infraction. A simple question like, "Was 4 a splinter? You didn't alert ...
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
If North decides to double which is terrible anyway IMO, he should definitely consider the fact that East could have a void (I don’t think anyone would think 4 has any other meaning). North should protect himself by asking East this question. I might roll the result ...
Ruling question regarding an unalerted jump cuebid
I would let the result stand and assess EW 3-IMP PP. North should definitely ask East if 4 could be specifically void (or singleton) before he doubles (even after East failed to alert). Double is terrible even if 4 doesn't specifically show a void IMO; why can ...
Nickell vs. Lall - Board 111 - 7!S
In an ideal relay system, both sides can decide if they wish to relay or just bid naturally. You usually relay if you have a balanced hand and have controls in the side suits (thus have no need for showing shortness/cue-bidding) and bid naturally if you have an unbalanced ...
Nickell vs. Lall - Board 111 - 7!S
I think Bart's main point is that drawing two rounds of trumps and hoping for QJx in diamonds or a ruffing finesse against North (as some suggested) is definitely inferior to Jeff's line. Since the percentages of all options are extremely low, the discussions in this thread are ...
Nickell vs. Lall - Board 111 - 7!S
Actually there is another line of play after South followed with Q9 in diamonds: Play North for J108 in spades and Jxxxx in diamonds (South has a singleton spade and Q9 of diamonds). Take the ruffing finesse for two more diamond tricks and one ruff in clubs.
Nickell vs. Lall - Board 111 - 7!S
Bart, I agree with your analysis completely. But once South followed with Q9 in the first two diamond tricks, restricted choice (plus South might have false-carded with QJ9x as you suggested) seems to suggest he should cross ruff in hearts and clubs and hope for either (2) or (3). Ruffing ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top