Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Alan Frank

Alan Frank
Alan Frank
  • 41
    Following
  • 25
    Followers
  • 118
    Posts
  • 57
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 27, 2011
Last Seen
6 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Depending on where one puts the line between expert and intermediate, I'm on one side or the other.  I've played twice on the last day of an NABC+ event.  With two kids and a full-time job developing software, I don't get to play as much as I'd like.  I'm interested in theory, laws, & tournament organization; I've been involved in rulemaking for chess and Scrabble in the past.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Criss-cross overtaking trump squeeze
Bridge Accomplishments
Overalls in Fall '09 NABC+ Swiss, 7th in '14 Fall 10K Swiss
Regular Bridge Partners
Stephanie Hamilton, Eric Schwartz
Favorite Tournaments
NABC
Favorite Conventions
Fairport
BBO Username
af1211
ACBL Ranking
Bronze Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
A mistake made against me (or, how do we teach counting and inference)?
@Rainer, sounds like something you can take advantage of as declarer. For example, with AK QJT xxx AQ opposite xx Kxx AKQx x, you need all but one of the remaining tricks. Against a human, if you give up a heart to RHO, he will return a club, forcing you ...
What's your ruling ?
Not sure how many IMPs I'd give to whom, but I'm ruling against the TD.
Yet another Jacoby 2nt ATB
Even if somebody had the 10, it's fine to miss a slam that's a hair lower than 50%.
Yet another Jacoby 2nt ATB
Adding to Ed's comment, "control bid" -- a bid showing first or second control in a specified suit, usually the suit bid.
Modern Jacoby 2NT: What is your preferred use of a break-the-relay bid?
It matters what opener's rebid is. For example, after 1 2NT 3, there is room for responder to bid 3NT=balanced decent minimum and 4x=strong splinter. OTOH, after 1M 2NT 3, there is no need to show any kind of minimum, but it is very ...
Who should have pushed harder?
Michael, the question I would have, if someone reliable made this up on the fly, is whether 4 is weaker than 4 because it's passable or stronger because it's a higher bid. For example, after 4NT Blackwood, a 5 response is passable, but stronger than ...
How would you rule?
Let's suppose you are declaring a hand and there is a 100% line for your contract via a squeeze. However, not all declarers will find it. Some will just take the straightforward line and fortunately make. However, at one table, a defender hesitates with a singleton, leading declarer astray ...
Tournament Format
I've seen a general rule for carryover that it should be proportional to the number of pairs which qualify.
Who should have pushed harder?
Suppose West bids 3 and East bids 4. Now West has to either sign off, which is obviously silly, or commit to the five level with no club control (though at least knowing we don't have *three* losers there). That didn't seem right with this hand ...
Who should have pushed harder?
3NT was undiscussed, but intended as Frivolous, which we have agreed to play in 2/1 auctions. West considered that an immediate 4 would have been stronger. We lost the board when the other table bid 1NT-3NT and a club was led away from the king.
.

Bottom Home Top