Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Allen Simon

Allen Simon
Allen Simon
  • 3
    Following
  • 1
    Followers
  • 4
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 29, 2016
Last Seen
March 18
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

Palo Alto, CA

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

BBO Username
vocaljazz
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Lame Claims
Is it even possible to state a line of play which involves an infraction? Could you state you were going to revoke?
3-level responses to 1NT
So, Gordon, after a 3 response is there a difference between opener bidding 3 or 4?
3-level responses to 1NT
It seems that a lot of people use the 3/3 bids as showing shortness in that suit. How would the auction continue, if 3NT isn't appealing? Would bidding the other major show a 5-card suit? Would a 4-level minor-suit bid show something different from a 5-level ...
Play (Interruption)
The rules say you have to designate a card by suit and rank. Even saying "small club" is technically not a legal call for dummy's card, even though everyone gets away with it.
Is there a standard meaning for this redouble?
A "raise to 1"? That's a new one.
Some rulings questions
Absent some other agreement, if you show a 2-suited hand and partner bids a suit which isn't one of yours, it shows a weak hand with great length and pass is definitely a LA. In this case, though, with long clubs and a bust he could have passed 2 ...
Xmas party bridge
Or you can reverse the point values of the major and minor suits, so that 4 or 4 is a game but 4 of a major isn't.
2C Response with 2/ 1 Hand (maybe GF)
So Drury is not alertable? Jacoby 2NT? Splinters?
Is 2N Lebensohl or not here ?
What would you have needed to have bid directly over 2? 8HCP and a 5-card suit? Less? (Depends on your style.) Whatever it is, partner knows you have less than that, so lebensohl seems unnecessary. Anyway, since opps didn't explore for game, partner has a pretty good guess ...
Slow Play, a day behind the “ Flash”
Seems like law 8(c) says the last round of a session ends when you've finished playing your boards. Not sure how Debbie could have been penalized for slow play in the last round.
.

Bottom Home Top