Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Andy Bowles

Andy Bowles
Andy Bowles
  • 19
    Following
  • 33
    Followers
  • 6
    Posts
  • 19
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Jan. 17, 2011
Last Seen
5 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player

Bridge Information

Member of Bridge Club(s)
Young Chelsea
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Feedback for Convention Chart, Part 2
That wouldn't be encrypted as the term is normally used (at bridge). Encryption implies that the signalling method is always known to the other defender but unknown to declarer.
The 2017 Laws of Duplicate Bridge are around the corner
Both the WBF and the ACBL actively solicited opinions about possible changes to the Laws. Here are some links: http://www.worldbridge.org/bulletin/11_2%20Veldhoven/Veldhoven.2011.Bulletin.[11].pdf [[]Page 5] http://www.bridgebase.com/forums/topic/48864-an-invitation-from-wbflc/ http://www.bridgebase.com/forums/topic/51185-acbl-review-of-laws-of-duplicate-bridge http://bridgewinners.com ...
How do we avoid this disaster?
"If South held AJ76, South would always return the jack." I think there are quite a lot of problems with that agreement. For example: - When declarer has Q10x it saves him a guess. - When he has K10xx and later loses the lead to his LHO, he has a second stopper ...
Feedback for Convention Chart, Part 2
FWIW, the EBU's definition is "[A] partnership understanding ... whereby the meaning of a lead, signal or discard is based in principle on information not available to declarer." I don't find that particularly satisfactory. Nor, I suspect do its authors, because they follow it with an exception for suit ...
Feedback for Convention Chart, Part 2
That's part of it, but it's not sufficient. "Spade cards show count if I have four hearts ; otherwise attitude" are also encrypted.
IS MY PARTNER INSANE? Part 1
Isn't 4144 more balanced than 4153?
IS MY PARTNER INSANE PART 2
If we accept the premise that 3 could have been 4153, I think that a 4054 should bid 4, to confirm the shape. Perhaps he has something like AKQx x KQJ10x AKx?
slip of the tongue ?
It appears that declarer did look at the opponent's card. The problem was that he didn't look at dummy's cards closely enough.
slip of the tongue ?
This is a matter of law, not regulation. The Laws are almost the same all over the world. There's no reference to "slip of the tongue" in either the ACBL version of the Laws or the Laws used by the rest of the world. The relevant law refers to ...
slip of the tongue ?
Given the facts in the OP, the ruling is clear, and on this occasion there's nothing to blame the lawmakers for. The director just made a ruling that doesn't accord with the rules.
.

Bottom Home Top