Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Anthony Pettengell

Anthony Pettengell
Anthony Pettengell
  • 25
    Following
  • 5
    Followers
  • 111
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
April 30, 2016
Last Seen
5 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

I began playing bridge while at uni in Durham, UK, unfortunately not starting until near the end of my undergraduate degree. I spent 3 years in Nottingham, mainly playing at the Nottingham, Woodborough and Phoenix bridge clubs, and helping to (re)start the university club there. I moved to Middlesbrough in September 2017 and am now playing in Darlington at the St George's Bridge Centre.

 

I have played Acol, 2/1, Precision, and Polish Club, and I am keen to try new systems. I mainly fall down in defence (don't we all?) or just in making silly errors. We can but try to improve!

Country
United Kingdom

Bridge Information

Member of Bridge Club(s)
Hurworth (St George's Bridge Centre)
BBO Username
Antonyx
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
After a Feature Ask
3 is definitely non-forcing for me, 4 (after any response) is forcing - for us this would be Minorwood, making 4NT a natural slam invite - but without some RKC replacement then 4N as keycard in diamonds is perfectly workable.
Reisinger Play problem
This was my first thought. I'm not certain it's best but it seems reasonable. Clubs are likely to be 3-1, and I want to take out spades ASAP. Alternatively. it might be better to take two spade finesses, hoping for one natural spade loser, A and a ...
Anthony Pettengell's bidding problem: K96 J K5432 QT74
I've got to say I’m surprised by the large majority so far for 3. With parter being max 14, do you really want to be inviting game with this hand?
Anthony Pettengell's bidding problem: QT9754 5 K6 JT76
Sanity check poll, I bid 2 without any hesitation or doubt. Thanks for the confirmation.
Anthony Pettengell's bidding problem: Q A75 AK965 AT93
I posted this as a second round problem, where I had overcalled 2. While well-aware that double was the other option, the comments made me want to check whether I was completely off base for considering the overcall. The results are certainly quite one-sided so far. Obviously if the ...
Convention Cards in NABC+ events
This is standard in the EBU. It's far better than the alternative. People do occasionally leave convention cards behind at previous tables... but that's literally the only, incredibly minor negative to what is an excellent procedural rule. Ok, only a few pairs will have their CC ready at ...
Martin Lindfors's bidding problem: T86 JT9653 AQ2 9
Well, you can still agree to have 2 be an invite in hearts, without those switches, albeit without nuance in follow-ups - opener jumps to 4/3N with a max and rebids 3 with a min. 2 then cannot be a hand that simply wants to play ...
John Portwood's bidding problem: A4 AQ98 T6 AJT63
I agree with both Richard and Mark. My typical agreements after an initial penalty double of 1N are that double is penalties/pass is forcing vs 2m, but pass is NF and double is takeout vs 2M. Subsequent doubles would be penalties either way. I would much prefer immediate doubles ...
Overcalling 1NT When Holding a Good 5 Card Major
To be fair the question is posed as 'good' 5-card major; while this is a subjective descriptor, I'm quite sure 65432 wouldn't qualify!
Bill March's bidding problem: AKQT9xx QTx Qx K
Exactly that. I can fully understand the view that you want to bid 4 anyway, but the soft honours (singleton K, Qx and QTx) are very defensive and argue against preemption. Given those soft values, I think it unlikely you'll be passed out in 1 with a ...
.

Bottom Home Top