At the table I led a club. On reflection, that seems questionable against weak NT/4-card majors - dummy is likely to have 5 clubs.
Dummy had ♠Axx ♥x ♦QJ98 ♣KQTxx, declarer ♠KQTxx ♥KQxxx ♦xx ♣x, leaving partner with ♠xx♥xxxx ♦Kxx ♣Axx. Double dummy, your lead doesn't matter. Single ...
Isn't the main concealment advantage of Puppet after the opening lead (and hence invisible to your study)?
Consider the auction
1. 1N-3C-3D-3H-3N versus
2a. 1N-2C-2D-3N or
*After* the opening lead, the defenders know dummy's shape (duh). They also know whether declarer has four hearts in the ...
@Andy: I can think of a few differences between enforcing revoke penalties and calling for a ruling on the hand in question.
1. When my opponent revokes, I am 100% certain that all of the authors of the relevant law fully intended the penalty to be applied in the specific ...
Thanks, I had suspected this is the case, and now I have found the threads:
A post by Frances Hinden explaining her methods:
A thread where this issue is discussed again:
Gonzalo, for this to develop into an "unconscious agreement" there is one more thing that needs to happen: Kevin would have to remain unaware of the fact that Justin opens EVERY HAND IN 3RD SEAT NON-VULNERABLE. (Sorry for caps, just want to emphasise.) Likewise for Justin about Keven's 3rd ...
David Burn: "I imagine 'could be illegal' might be counter-productive, even if true."
I doubt that would be accurate. The WBF definition makes it illegal to agree to open a balanced 7hcp hands ("King or more below average strength", where "average strength" means 10 hcp with no "distributional values"). I ...
Gonzalo, the idea that Justin and Kevin form an unconscious agreement to open all hands in 3rd seat non-vulnerable seems absurd to me, and I thought it would seem absurd to you as well. Wouldn't you think they know each others tendencies well?
I think this is just a ...
Dear Ignacio Jiminez,
on Bridge Base Forums, your team mate Gonzalo posted: "The captain had warned us that maybe we would retire, and so after 2 bids on first board he told us to stand and leave."
(See http://www.bridgebase.com/forums/topic/74926-world-championships-calendar/page__view__findpost__p__897511 )
Maybe you and Gonzalo ...