Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Aviv Shahaf

Aviv Shahaf
Aviv Shahaf
  • 221
    Following
  • 85
    Followers
  • 107
    Posts
  • 62
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
July 29, 2010
Last Seen
4 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Teacher
about me

I have been directing and teaching Bridge for the past 20 years.

Head of Directors at the Honors Bridge Club in New York, running 5 section games most weekday afternoons

USBF Jr Program Mentor

Met my wife at a Bridge Club and we are raising two future stars.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Playing "Gulash" with Chagas & Branco in Rio
Bridge Accomplishments
third place at a club game twice!
Regular Bridge Partners
Igor Savchenko
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Head of Directors at the Honors Bridge Club in New York
Favorite Tournaments
WSOP Main Event
Favorite Conventions
Incision (Forcing Club system with very light opening bids)
BBO Username
Avivs
ACBL Ranking
Silver Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Can you have UI generated solely through your own actions?
Ed, The fact that you broke tempo is AI to you. The inferences about how your BIT effects partner's choices is UI. Example: if you are thinking whether to bid or pass, and realize that you broke tempo, you are allowed to choose bidding even if your final analysis ...
Is an adjustment warranted?
Partner's alert is UI. Partner's 3 bid is AI. You need to judge if the UI affects the player's interpretation of the 3 bid. If you judge that without the alert the player might interpret the 3 bid as a "sign off" then you ...
Alert question
The second option is the closest but you should only "announce after the auction" if your side end up declaring.
Which meaning is alertable?
Appologies, 2m = Michaels showing both Majors. Updated now.
How would you rule ?
Although the BIT suggest that North's 4 bid was not pure, I don't believe that South has a Logical Alternative to Passing 6. If North wanted to offer a choice between Diamonds and Hearts they could have used 5 or 5NT or 6 depending ...
Correct explanation of 4NT
Alex got it right in the first comment ("Asks for the number of Key Cards"). Many of the other responses, while better than "Blackwood" are also inappropriate. Names of conventions such as "Roman Key Cards" or "14-30" or the likes are NEVER a proper answer when the opponents ask for ...
Do YOU play any of the "Worst Conventions?"
All these polls are pretty useless as it all depends on how the convention is structured and the entire bidding system. Few examples: Having the agreement that a 4 bid is always "Gerber" is terrible but agreeing that a direct jump to 4 over a Natural 1NT or ...
King Please or Thank you?
Michael, this usually happens when dummy comes down and declarer realizes s/he has a lot of work to do. They start thinking about the complicated hand and at some point take a mental break to thank partner. They then resume thinking about the hand until they are ready to ...
King Please or Thank you?
I have observed this type of delayed "Thank you" many times at high levels.
King Please or Thank you?
I listened to the audio many times using high end head set and can say with about 95% certainty that declarer said "Thank you". Then I watched the video on a 5K screen and that enforced my belief that declarer said "Thank you" since both declarer and dummy did not ...
.

Bottom Home Top