Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Bob Balderson

Bob Balderson
Bob Balderson
  • 0
    Following
  • 11
    Followers
  • 6
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
June 28, 2012
Last Seen
July 17
Member Type
Bridge Player

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
Emerald Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
ATB
North bid well: minimum GF with 5S and good diamonds => picture bid vs. "panic bid" (must be 5D because they are weak). South should have visualized 5/5.
Vanishing point.
Question - why didn't declarer cash the ace of spades after everyone followed to the second heart (in case LHO holds Kxx of spades and three hearts or Kx of spades and two hearts)?
Is there any advantage of interchanging the meaning of Bergen Raises to 1 Major?
We use 3C as Mixed; 3D as Limit. After 1H/S-3C, 3D is artificial game try.
2!C natural and limited, and then . . . .
I played 2C as part of a modified Polish Club system for a number of years with various partners. It promised 5C+, with or without 4CM, and roughly 10-15. 2D was a relay with invitational values 2H was a GF relay (natural by a passed hand) 2S was NF, const ...
USBC slam defence
Right.
USBC slam defence
Also, how does shifting to a club beat the actual hand? Aren't you just squeezed in the blacks even if declarer misguesses the clubs?
USBC slam defence
Seems better to play partner for Txx of spades. Switch to the Q of spades and hope declarer misguesses clubs. If you switch to clubs and declarer has K9xx x AKxxxxx x, you get caught in a guard squeeze (forced to stiff a spade honor on the last diamond).
Appeal from Kansas City
A few years ago at a National, I received this ruling: RHO opened 1NT, I overcalled 2D (one major) alerted by partner, and LHO bid 4D (clearly intended as Texas, but neither announced nor alerted by opener). Opener raised to 5D, responder bid 5H, and opener, looking confused, jumped to ...
Can you preemp and then bid again?
We play "Lose My Mind" doubles. If the preemptor doubles in this auction, it says, " I want to save unless you want to play this doubled." Partner either saves or passes to convert to penalty. It's not perfect, but at least both partners are involved.
How Do You Show An Invitational Hand With Five Spades Over 1NT
We play 1N-2C-2H-2S as inv with 4S (1N-2N is a gadget), so 1N-2C-2H-2N is inv with no major.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top