Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Chris Miller

Chris Miller
Chris Miller
  • 0
    Following
  • 20
    Followers
  • 22
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
March 21, 2012
Last Seen
3 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Director
about me

ACBL Tournament director; chief director and club manager of the Washington Bridge League weekly Unit Game. Capable of occasional flashes of competence as a player.

\n

 

\n

In the real world, a full-time software engineer with a past life teaching computer science in UK universities

\n

All views expressed in my posts, except when otherwise stated or when presented as direct quotes from ACBL published policies and regulations, are my own. They are not reviewed or approved by the ACBL.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Making a grand slam on an endplay
Regular Bridge Partners
Kevin Barnes, GIB
Member of Bridge Club(s)
Washington Bridge League
BBO Username
chrism
ACBL Ranking
Ruby Life Master
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Declarer problem
Is it credible, in addition, that West, holding a natural trump trick with QJx, might have chosen not to trump at all?
Declarer problem
[i]"But wtf was the 3N bid all about?"[/i] My guess would be that 3 asked South to bid 3NT with a spade stopper (or at least, was so interpreted by South).
Chris Miller's bidding problem: QJT542 2 K9 AK92
Pretty much; it was South who forgot system (they weren't playing transfers in this auction, of course) and asserted that partner's 3 was sufficient evidence that the auction was off the rails that he was allowed to wake up and bid 3 despite the UI of ...
How many hearts does partner show?
How many hearts did opener show? (Edit: missed the "doesn't guarantee 6" sentence)
2/1 bidding question - responding with a long minor
South opens 1NT.
UI in San Diego?
True, of course. Would seeing South's hand or knowing their agreements, we can't say. If 3 is a super-accept, then South must presumably bid either 3 or 4. If it is not agreed, then maybe South might pass 3 if there is a credible ...
UI in San Diego?
Making the obvious assumption that South has spades, then unless there is evidence that North actually had UI, there is no reason to adjust. The bid of 3 is not by itself such evidence. If NS have any agreements on super-acceptances, we must determine whether South has bid consistently ...
What's the lawful ruling?
Jeff, my tangent to the discussion is a rather pedantic parsing of [i]precisely[/i] what the regulation says compared to what common sense might expect it to mean. Neither of those is the same as a consideration of what it ought to be. I would prefer a regulation more ...
What's the lawful ruling?
FWIW, in the terminology of the Laws you made (or did not make) a POOR which is a COOR but neither a BOOR nor a BOOT :)
What's the lawful ruling?
Indeed. My point (and that of others above) is that there seems to be no useful practical distinction between "A call is considered made when a bidding card is [i]removed from the bidding box and[/i] held touching or nearly touching the table or maintained in such a position ...
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top