Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Chris Mulley

Chris Mulley
Chris Mulley
  • 0
    Following
  • 4
    Followers
  • 11
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Aug. 8, 2013
Last Seen
20 hours ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
Australia

Bridge Information

ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
ATB: Diving to disaster
I don't recall this ever having been forgotten in one of my partnerships. "If you have pre-empted, double is action ahead of partner" is a very simple rule, and double is such an unusual action that partner always remembers it too.
ATB: Diving to disaster
There are auctions where it has a place, and I think I understand what North was thinking here - if this is a double-fit hand, 6 is likely to be a cheap save against game, let alone slam. The flaw here is that it pre-supposes that this is a double ...
ATB: Diving to disaster
This is one of the reasons I play action doubles rather than penalty doubles by the pre-empter. Having said that, I'm not convinced I would use it on this hand.
Do you have methods that help here?
I have always called that convention "Blackout". I call my transfer version "Perverse". I'm sure others would have come up with the idea long before I did, though. 2-level bids are NNF, with transfers starting at 2NT (weak or GF).
Do you have methods that help here?
My preference is a transfer scheme commencing at 2NT. You start showing things immediately as responder and you can also use 3/3NT to attempt to right-side 3NT.
Transfers after intervention
I do. I just invented my own, but I'm sure I've drawn on some ideas from there (via other people). One thing that I think I do a bit differently is to start the transfers off at X a lot more than is usual. So, for example: 1 ...
Definition of a penalty double
That is a very elegant description containing all of the pertinent information.
Definition of a penalty double
I agree that the 1NT opener should never pull unless they have psyched, and even then it might be a bad idea.
Definition of a penalty double
I know some who would respond "It's just bridge". I know others who would say if they want a bridge lesson, they should pay for one.
Defense agains natural 2!c
I play that after a takeout double, we use 2 as our Lebensohl bid.
Not following anyone yet
.

Bottom Home Top