Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for Darrell Gibson

Darrell Gibson
Darrell Gibson
  • 1
    Following
  • 0
    Followers
  • 2
    Posts
  • 0
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Dec. 14, 2011
Last Seen
Sept. 18, 2014
Member Type
Bridge Player
about me

On a long hiatus from playing bridge (13 years and counting).  Enjoying life in San Diego.

Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Winning KOs at the New England Individual Regional a long time ago and then getting to kibitz all of the good players in the Swiss afterwards
Regular Bridge Partners
None currently. Previously John Moschella, Sue Ostrowski and Dennis Dawson.
ACBL Ranking
None
Sorry, this user has no cards yet.
Watertown Sectional, Day 1: Pairs
On the 2nd hand, I don't understand why West jumped to 3 for the rebid (unless he/she thought 2 was Drury).
How do you make the judgement?
I agree with your points 1-3. But the hand you created in point 4 doesn't seem possible. Ok, MAYBE East is passing the 11 count with a good 6/4 shape but that seems highly improbable. West needs to have the Q (you gave the J to ...
Bidding a freak hand
4NT for me. I doubt we will be able to scientifically determine if we belong in the 6 level or just the 5 so I'm going to put the most pressure I can. Who knows which side can make what.
Yuan Shen's bidding problem: KJ8 9 AQJ AJT983
If partner has 4 good spades (AQxx) and the Kxxx of clubs why don't we want to be in 6? Isn't it at worst on a finesse for the K which will be against the opening bidder?
What are you allowed to lead in this situation
You're right. Thanks for clearing that up for me.
What are you allowed to lead in this situation
Just to make sure I'm clear. It was dummy (partner of the 1NT bidder) who tanked for a minute or 2. 4th chair only objected to everyone picking up their bids prior to him/her making a call (in this case passing). My answer was anything but a diamond ...
How to set them? - 2.0
Oops, missed that you included the 9 in your second example. My mistake. But I still shift rather than clearing the suit.
How to set them? - 2.0
It is possible that declarer has 5 diamond and 4 club tricks but only if declarer has exactly AQ9 of clubs and 2 diamonds.
How to set them? - 2.0
David, he actually said "about 15-16 HCP" so 14 with AKQJx would probably qualify. Kit, with your 2nd example declarer still only has 8 tricks if you shift since partner has the A. I voted for the shift to avoid squeezing partner in case he has Jx/Axxx/Txxx/Qxx ...
Unusual 6!D Bid
Dean, how does that math work if North redoubles 4? I believe it scores better than 6 making.
No followers yet
.

Bottom Home Top