Join Bridge Winners

Bridge Winners Profile for David Goldfarb

David Goldfarb
David Goldfarb
  • 17
    Following
  • 6
    Followers
  • 72
    Posts
  • 2
    Favorites

Basic Information

Member Since
Feb. 25, 2012
Last Seen
14 minutes ago
Member Type
Bridge Player
Country
United States of America

Bridge Information

Favorite Bridge Memory
Second place in an A/X Swiss, in a field with multiple Grand Life Masters including Eddie Wold and Shawn Quinn.
Regular Bridge Partners
Harry Elliott, Jon Goldberg, Jim Andre
BBO Username
DGoldfarb
ACBL Ranking
Ruby Life Master
An Unassuming Club
An Unassuming Club
Copy to my cards View/Print
Jim Andre and David Goldfarb 2/1 card
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Sheila + David
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Copy of Bridge Winners Standard
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Harry Elliott and David Goldfarb 2/1 card
2 over 1
Copy to my cards View/Print
Opening standards: LTC vs Point Count
I have a page bookmarked that has a K&R calculator. Nobody can really use it at the table, although supposedly it was meant to capture the kinds of things that Edgar Kaplan thought about without assigning numbers. I'll note that it doesn't like the scattered honors in Kxx Qxxx Ax Qxxx. Put them together as xxx AQxx xx KQxx and the evaluation goes up from 9.8 to the same 11.4 that hand 2 gets; add two T's in the long suits (xxx AQTx xx KQTx) and you bump the evaluation up by a full point.
Opening standards: LTC vs Point Count
Playing 2/1, I like the rule of 22: lengths of the two longest suits, plus HCP, plus quick tricks. By that measure neither hand you give is an opener, although the second one is closer — my intuition is that the second hand is stronger, and the K&R 4 ...
Eight Ever - Nine Never - or is it the other way round?
I read "one way" and "the other" as meaning for our side and the opponents respectively.
Defend this hand
Given that you posted the hand as a problem, I assume the second club didn't beat it. I'm going to go further and guess that David Levin's line of shifting to a diamond, taking the first spade, and then playing another diamond would have worked.
Defend this hand
I got to most of this, but I didn't get as far as realizing that I can cater to KQ tight with declarer by winning the first round of spades and then playing a second diamond to take out the dummy entry. Nice. It would be a good ploy ...
Timuçin (Timo) Erkoç's bidding problem: J5 KQ654 AT82 AK
I agree I'm taking a guess. But then, pass is also a guess. This gamble feels like it has more to gain when it pays off than pass does.
Timuçin (Timo) Erkoç's bidding problem: J5 KQ654 AT82 AK
The alternative to 3N is to pass and hope partner doubles so that I can leave it in. However, partner has too many hands where he won't double but we can make something. So I'm guessing 3N. Partner might be able to pull to 4 or 4 ...
Does Responding 2!c to 1!s on a 3=4=4=2 Shape Require an Alert?
Announcements are given only in the specific circumstances where the rules mandate them. This is not one such.
Up to Weakness
Yes, but from declarer's point of view, are the clubs known to be 3=5 rather than 5=3?
The Dark Side
One thing I wonder: how would the auction have gone without the preemptive opening? Presumably North bids 1H, and South responds 1S. Does North then force? If North chooses a 3H rebid, mightn't South pass? One extra downside of weak shapeless preempts is that they can allow the opponents ...
.

Bottom Home Top